NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, February 3, 2016 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

8:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Comments by the Chairman

Consideration of the minutes of the November 24, 2015, meeting

CRUDE OIL AND PRODUCED WATER PIPELINE STUDY

8:05 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Energy and Environmental Research Center regarding the results of a study on existing regulations on construction and monitoring of crude oil and produced water pipelines and on the feasibility and cost-effectiveness of requiring detection and monitoring technology on new and existing pipeline systems

pursuant to 2015 House Bill No. 1358

9:35 a.m. Break

10:10 a.m.

PIPELINE UPDATES

9:45 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Pipeline Authority regarding the status of pipeline projects and other pipeline updates

Presentation by a representative of the Public Service Commission regarding an overview of the pipeline siting process, including any issues related to pipeline siting

10:30 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Agriculture regarding the department's pipeline restoration and reclamation oversight program established in

2015 Senate Bill No. 2271

OIL AND GAS UPDATES

10:50 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Mineral Resources regarding:

Recent oil production trends

Future oil production estimates

The status of wells drilled but not completed

Statistics related to oil spills and produced water spills

Activities related to underground gathering pipeline oversight

11:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons

11:40 a.m. Committee discussion

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the State Department of Health regarding the status

of oilfield waste disposal and any changes in the department's workload related to the

decrease in oil activity

1:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons

1:35 p.m. Committee discussion

2:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Rich Wardner (Chairman), Kelly M. Armstrong, Brad Bekkedahl, Bill L. Bowman, Philip M.

Murphy, John M. Warner

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Mike Brandenburg, Chuck Damschen, Ben Hanson, Corey Mock, Todd

Porter

Staff Contact: Adam Mathiak, Fiscal Analyst