NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, May 19, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

	BISMAICK, NORM DAKOLA
10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the February 18, 2016, meeting
10:05 a.m.	Comments by the Chairman
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. L. Anita Thomas, General Counsel, North Dakota School Boards Association, regarding the effect of the North Dakota United bill draft on the membership requirements, appointment processes, and authority of the North Dakota Education Association
10:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Janet Welk, Executive Director, North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board, of a report on the electronic satisfaction survey results of all interactions with individuals seeking information or services from the board
11:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding reporting to the Department of Public Instruction by school districts that adopt a policy on student restraint and seclusion
11:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
11:45 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Wayne Kutzer, Director and Executive Officer, North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education, regarding funding and evaluation of career and technical education programs
1:30 p.m.	Presentations by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction regarding reports due to the committee on:
	The financial condition of school districts;
	 Compilation of annual school district employee compensation reports;
	 Request from a school or school district for a waiver of any rule governing school accreditation;
	 Request from a school or school district for a waiver of North Dakota Century Code Section 15.1-21-03 regarding high school unit instructional time;
	 The compilation of test scores of a test aligned to the state content standards in reading and mathematics given annually to students in three grades statewide;
	 Findings and recommendations of the School District Reporting Review Committee; and
	The implementation of a uniform system for the accounting, budgeting, and reporting

of data by an early childhood education provider who has received a grant distributed

in accordance with Section 3 of 2015 Senate Bill No. 2051

2:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons3:00 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

3:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Donald Schaible (Chairman), Howard C. Anderson Jr., Kyle R. Davison, Robert Erbele, Tim Flakoll, Joan Heckaman, Richard Marcellais, Erin Oban, Nicole Poolman, David S. Rust

Representatives: Richard G. Holman, Bob Hunskor, Mary C. Johnson, Jerry Kelsh, Alex Looysen, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Mike Nathe, Karen M. Rohr, Mark Sanford, Cynthia Schreiber

Beck, Kris Wallman, Denton Zubke

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel