NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Friday, July 22, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the May 19, 2016, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Comments by the Chairman
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Lee Posey, Federal Affairs Counsel, National Conference of State Legislatures, regarding the reauthorization of the federal Every Student Succeeds Act
- 9:45 a.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Amy Neal, North Dakota Teacher of the Year, regarding the Teacher of the Year award
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, Superintendent of Public Instruction, regarding the plan to rewrite the academic content standards for the state
- 11:00 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:15 a.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 11:30 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Alan J. Peterson, Director, North Dakota Center for Distance Education, regarding the capabilities of the North Dakota Center for Distance Education
- 1:20 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a technical corrections bill draft regarding North Dakota United and a review of the North Dakota United bylaws
- 1:50 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 2:10 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding reporting to the Department of Public Instruction by school districts that adopt a policy on student restraint and seclusion
- 2:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:45 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Donald Schaible (Chairman), Howard C. Anderson Jr., Kyle R. Davison, Robert Erbele, Tim Flakoll, Joan Heckaman, Richard Marcellais, Erin Oban, Nicole Poolman, David S. Rust

Representatives: Richard G. Holman, Bob Hunskor, Mary C. Johnson, Jerry Kelsh, Alex Looysen, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Mike Nathe, Karen M. Rohr, Mark Sanford, Cynthia Schreiber Beck, Kris Wallman, Denton Zubke

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel