August 3, 2016

MEETING NOTICE

Representative Mark Sanford, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**.

Date, Thursday, August 18, 2016, 8:30 a.m., Room E221, University of North Dakota School of Medicine **Time,** and Health Sciences, 1301 North Columbia Road, Grand Forks

and Health Sciences, 1301 North Columbia Road, Grand Forks

and Place: Friday, August 19, 2016, 8:30 a.m., Room E221, University of North Dakota School of Medicine and

Health Sciences, 1301 North Columbia Road, Grand Forks

Agenda:

Presentations and committee discussion regarding higher education administrative costs and personnel information, research funding and activities, costs of distance education, and facility maintenance and budget guidelines; receive reports regarding tribal college assistance grants, the status of the development of a unified workforce, vocational, and technical education program system, distributions from the North Dakota University System internal audit funding pool, distributions from the University System deferred maintenance funding pool, the use of extraordinary repairs funding and matching funds by University System institutions, the higher education challenge grant program, and activities of the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Heath Sciences Advisory Committee; updates on issues affecting the University of North Dakota and the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences; consideration of bill drafts relating to the higher education challenge grant program, the assessment of University System institutions, the higher education funding formula, student loan forgiveness programs, unified student system initiatives, and a state student aid advisory board; and other presentations and committee discussion relating to the committee's assigned studies and duties

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should

contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Mark Sanford, Thomas Beadle, Tracy Boe, Lois Delmore,

Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, Matthew M. Klein, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Kylie Oversen, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber Beck, Roscoe Streyle; Senators Tim Flakoll, Ray Holmberg, Karen K.

Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson

Staff Contact: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/JJB