NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Thursday, August 25, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the June 6, 2016, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Representative Lawrence R. Klemin, North Dakota Commission on Uniform State Laws, regarding the recommendations of the commission for the 2017 legislative session
9:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. John Bjornson, Code Revisor, Legislative Council, of a bill draft relating to technical corrections to the North Dakota Century Code
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Thomas Trenbeath, Deputy Attorney General, Attorney General's office, of a report regarding the current status and trends of unlawful drug use and abuse and drug control and enforcement efforts in this state
9:50 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mike Pitcher, Assistant Attorney General, regarding the impact of the United States Supreme Court decisions in <i>Birchfield v. North Dakota</i> and <i>Beylund v. Levi</i> on the state's implied consent statutes
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sally Holewa, State Court Administrator, Supreme Court, regarding the impact of the United States Supreme Court decisions in <i>Birchfield v. North Dakota</i> and <i>Beylund v. Levi</i> on the state's implied consent statutes and court policies
10:10 a.m.	Committee discussion
10:20 a.m.	Break
10:35 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Elizabeth Fischer, Assistant Attorney General, regarding the status of litigation related to the state's voter identification statutes
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Wendy Underhill, Program Manager, Elections and Redistricting, National Conference of State Legislatures, regarding issues related to voter identification, registration, and verification of citizenship status
11:15 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:25 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Jennifer Cook, Policy Director, American Civil Liberties Union of North Dakota, regarding voter identification
11:40 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft [17.0203.01000] relating to the definition of marriage and the recognition of marital relationships
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and other business
12:15 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), Kelly M. Armstrong, John Grabinger, Carolyn C. Nelson, Erin Oban, Mac Schneider

Representatives: Pamela Anderson, Roger Brabandt, Lois Delmore, Kathy Hawken, Richard G. Holman, Mary C. Johnson, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Diane Larson, Andrew G. Maragos, Christopher D. Olson, Gary Paur, Mary Schneider

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel