## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

# POLITICAL SUBDIVISION TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, September 13, 2016 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the June 29, 2016, meeting

### SOCIAL SERVICES FINANCING STUDY

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Human Services regarding the history behind the formation of the County Social Services Finance Working Group and an overview of the working group's activities
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Joe Morrissette, Deputy Tax Commissioner and member of the County Social Services Finance Working Group, regarding the cost and operation of the proposed social service funding formula
- 10:00 a.m. Break
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the transition of funding responsibility for county social services
- 10:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:10 a.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess

### ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TAX INCENTIVE STUDY

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of an updated evaluation chart and background memorandums to track the committee's progress in its study of economic development tax incentives
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to modify certification and reporting requirements related to the angel fund investment tax credit
- 1:30 p.m. Comments by a representative of the Tax Department regarding the angel fund investment tax credit
- 1:45 p.m. Comments by a representative of the Department of Commerce regarding the angel fund investment tax credit
- 2:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:15 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 2:30 p.m. Break
- 2:45 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Commerce regarding recertification of renaissance zones
- 3:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Justin Dever, Co-Deputy Commissioner, Department of Commerce, regarding a return-on-investment analysis for the electrical generating facilities sales tax exemption, the telecommunications infrastructure sales tax exemption, and the manufacturing automation tax credit
- 3:15 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the electrical generating facilities sales tax exemption, the telecommunications infrastructure sales tax exemption, and the manufacturing automation tax credit

- 4:00 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 4:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the preparation of dynamic fiscal notes
- 4:25 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 4:40 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 5:00 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Representatives: Jason Dockter (Chairman), Larry Bellew, Mark A. Dosch, Craig Headland, Kathy Hogan, Lawrence R. Klemin, Ben Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Mike Lefor, Alisa Mitskog, Gail Mooney, Naomi Muscha, Mike Nathe, Nathan Toman, Robin Weisz Senators: Brad Bekkedahl, Randall A. Burckhard, Dwight Cook, Jim Dotzenrod, Tim Mathern, Jessica

Unruh

Staff Contact: Emily L. Thompson, Counsel