NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

INITIATED AND REFERRED MEASURES STUDY COMMISSION

Monday, July 31, 2017 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call
- 10:05 a.m. Introductory remarks and presentation by Surrogate Judge William A. Neumann, Chairman, regarding Senate Bill No. 2135
- 10:15 a.m. Introductions of commission members
- 10:45 a.m. Overview of procedural rules and commission process
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding state laws regarding initiated and referred measures
- 11:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Alvin A. Jaeger, Secretary of State, regarding initiated and referred measure processes, forms, and requirements
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Continuation of presentation and questions regarding initiated and referred measure processes, forms, and requirements
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council costs for recent initiated measures
- 2:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jaeger regarding costs incurred by sponsoring committees, including costs of collecting signatures
- 2:45 p.m. Instruction for human resources materials, discussion of future meeting dates, and other miscellaneous matters
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Commission Members

Chairman: Surrogate Judge William A. Neumann Senators: David Hogue, Gary A. Lee, Erin Oban Representatives: Jim Kasper, Scott Louser, Vicky Steiner Citizen Members: Nick Archuleta, Ellen Chaffee, Kirsten Diederich, Robert Hale, Pete Hanebutt, Alvin A. Jaeger, Jack McDonald, Sara Meier, Brady Pelton, Kayla Pulvermacher, Jonathan Sickler, Conner Swanson