2:05 p.m.

## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## **NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, September 20, 2017 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Comments by the Chairman
10:10 a.m.	Presentations by the Legislative Council staff:
	Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
	<ul> <li>Background memorandum on the study of state and local level regulation of high- level radioactive waste disposal</li> </ul>
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Chuck Volk regarding state and local level regulation of high-level radioactive waste disposal and the size, scope, and location of high-level radioactive waste material deposits in the state
10:40 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
10:55 a.m.	Break
11:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Edward Murphy, State Geologist, Geological Survey, Department of Mineral Resources, regarding state and federal regulation of high-level radioactive waste disposal and the federal location selection process for high-level radioactive waste material deposits
11:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. David Glatt, Chief, Environmental Health Section, State Department of Health, regarding state and federal regulation of high-level radioactive waste disposal
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Wesley D. Peck, Principal Geologist, Geosciences Group Lead, Energy and Environmental Research Center, regarding the Energy and Environmental Research Center's relevant experience and observations with respect to the accommodation of scientific discovery
11:45 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Aaron Birst, Legal Counsel, North Dakota Association of Counties, regarding local-level input and location of high-level radioactive waste material deposits in the state
1:10 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
1:25 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff on conflict between 2017 House Bill No. 1144 and 2017 Senate Bill No. 2286, relating to energy conversion facilities
1:40 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
1:55 p.m.	Break

• Background memorandum on the study of the Public Service Commission and political subdivisions relating to local ordinances and zoning provisions being considered and addressed as part of the application and public hearing process

Presentations by the Legislative Council staff:

- Background memorandum on the study of the impact of wind energy development on the environment
- 2:25 p.m. Committee discussion regarding future meetings and other administrative matters
- 2:40 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Jay Seibel (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Roger Brabandt, Mike Brandenburg, Tom Kading, Vernon Laning, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Vicky Steiner, Greg Westlind

Senators: Bill L. Bowman, Diane Larson, Larry Luick, Merrill Piepkorn

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel