NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUSTICE REINVESTMENT COMMITTEE

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of the Symplementary Rules of Operation and Brocadure of the North Delete
	Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
9:05 a.m.	Comments by the Chairman
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee studies of corrections and the juvenile justice system
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Lisa Bjergaard, Director, Division of Juvenile Services, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, regarding juvenile incarceration
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sally Holewa, State Court Administrator, Supreme Court, regarding the juvenile justice system
10:15 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:20 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Josh Weber, Director, Juvenile Justice Program, Council of State Governments Justice Center, regarding the methods being used to reform juvenile justice systems in various states
10:50 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Aaron Birst, Legal Counsel, North Dakota Association of Counties, regarding issues related to juveniles which are facing local prosecutors and law enforcement officials
11:20 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Terry Traynor, Chairman, North Dakota Juvenile Justice State Advisory Group, regarding the study of the juvenile justice system
11:35 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Leann K. Bertsch, Director, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, regarding the role of the department in the management and oversight of jail facilities
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Troy Seibel, Chief Deputy Attorney General, Attorney General's office, regarding the ability of the Attorney General's office to provide management and oversight of jail facilities
2:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Birst regarding management and oversight of jail facilities
2:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons, committee discussion, and staff directives
3:15 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Kelly M. Armstrong (Chairman), Dick Dever, John Grabinger, Dave Oehlke, Arne Osland Representatives: Jake G. Blum, Karla Rose Hanson, Pat D. Heinert, Tom Kading, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Lisa Meier, Jon O. Nelson, Bernie Satrom, Steve Vetter

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel