## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

## **EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, August 30, 2017 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
- 9:10 a.m. Comments by the Chairman regarding the responsibilities of the committee
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study of entities that deliver K-12 professional development services, distance curriculum, support for schools in achieving school improvement goals, assistance with analysis and interpretation of student achievement data, and technology support services
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, Superintendent of Public Instruction, regarding the budget, governance, services, quality assurance, duplication of services, and efficiency of the Department of Public Instruction
- 9:50 a.m. Committee discussion
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Wayne Kutzer, Director and Executive Officer, Department of Career and Technical Education, regarding the budget, governance, services, quality assurance, duplication of services, and efficiency of the Department of Career and Technical Education
- 10:20 a.m. Committee discussion
- 10:30 a.m. Break
- 10:40 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Becky Pitkin, Executive Director, Education Standards and Practices Board, regarding the budget, governance, services, quality assurance, duplication of services, and efficiency of the Education Standards and Practices Board
- 11:00 a.m. Committee discussion
- 11:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Luke Schaefer, Director, Mid Dakota Education Cooperative, regarding the budget, governance, services, quality assurance, duplication of services, and efficiency of regional education associations in the state
- 11:30 a.m. Committee discussion
- 11:45 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 12:45 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Rosi Kloberdanz, Director, North Dakota Educational Technology Council, and Dr. Alan J. Peterson, Director, Center for Distance Education, regarding the budget, governance, services, quality assurance, duplication of services, and efficiency of North Dakota Educational Technology Council entities, including EduTech and the Center for Distance Education
- 1:15 p.m. Committee discussion
- 1:25 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Baesler regarding the leveraging the senior year initiative
- 1:35 p.m. Committee discussion
- 1:40 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Kutzer regarding the career pathways initiative

- 1:50 p.m. Committee discussion
- 1:55 p.m. Break
- 2:05 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Pitkin regarding the teacher mentoring initiative
- 2:15 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:20 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Schaefer regarding the Succeed 2020 initiative
- 2:30 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:35 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 3:05 p.m. Committee discussion regarding the committee's responsibilities and staff directives
- 3:20 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Erin Oban (Chairman), Kyle Davison, Richard Marcellais, Donald Schaible, Shawn Vedaa Representatives: Rich S. Becker, Ron Guggisberg, Mary Johnson, Donald W. Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, David Monson, Bill Oliver, Mark S. Owens, Matthew Ruby, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel