NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

INITIATED AND REFERRED MEASURES STUDY COMMISSION

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the July 31, 2017, meeting
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding other states' laws and practices for initiated and referred measures
10:45 a.m.	Comments by Secretary of State Alvin A. Jaeger regarding other states' laws and practices for initiated and referred measures
11:15 a.m.	Commission discussion regarding other states' laws and practices for initiated and referred measures
11:45 a.m.	Luncheon recess
12:45 p.m.	Continuation of commission discussion regarding other states' laws and practices for initiated and referred measures
1:25 p.m.	Comments by the Chairman
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding permissibility of legislators commenting on, supporting, or opposing initiated and referred measures
1:40 p.m.	Presentation by Secretary of State Jaeger regarding the distinction between sponsoring committees and measure committees
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Secretary of State Jaeger on campaign finance disclosure statements filed related to Marsy's Law, to whom expenditures were made, and the amount received from out-of-state contributors
2:20 p.m.	Presentation by Secretary of State Jaeger on campaign finance disclosure statements filed related to the 2016 medical marijuana initiated measure, to whom expenditures were made, and the amount received from out-of-state contributors
2:40 p.m.	Presentation by Secretary of State Jaeger on campaign finance disclosure statements filed related to the 2014 post-Labor Day school start initiated measure, to whom expenditures were made, and the amount received from out-of-state contributors
3:00 p.m.	Presentation by Secretary of State Jaeger on campaign finance disclosure statements filed related to the 2012 prevention of animal cruelty initiated measure, to whom expenditures were made, and the amount received from out-of-state contributors
3:20 p.m.	Commission discussion regarding out-of-state funding on initiated measures
3:45 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Commission Members

Chairman: Surrogate Judge William A. Neumann Senators: David Hogue, Gary A. Lee, Erin Oban

Representatives: Jim Kasper, Scott Louser, Vicky Steiner Citizen Members: Nick Archuleta, Brent Bogar, Ellen Chaffee, Kirsten Diederich, Robert Hale, Pete

Hanebutt, Alvin A. Jaeger, Jack McDonald, Sara Meier, Kayla Pulvermacher, Jonathan

Sickler, Conner Swanson

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Counsel