NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Monday, October 9, 2017 Brynhild Haugland Room, State Capitol, Bismarck, North Dakota Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Room 335, National Energy Center of Excellence, Bismarck State College, Bismarck, North Dakota

9:30 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the September 6-7, 2017, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

9:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Transmission Authority regarding

annual reports related to the 2015-17 biennium

9:55 a.m. Distribution of information regarding energy-related tax incentives

10:00 a.m. Presentation by a representative of Basin Electric Power Cooperative and a

representative of Montana-Dakota Utilities regarding an overview of electrical utility

operations

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by a representative of Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP regarding an

overview of electrical grid reliability

2:00 p.m. Break

2:15 p.m. Presentation of information regarding each electric utility's current energy resource

portfolio, projected load growth, future energy resource plans, and other major factors

impacting operations by representatives of the following:

ALLETE

• Basin Electric Power Cooperative

Great River Energy

Minnkota Power Cooperative

· Montana-Dakota Utilities

Otter Tail Power Company

Xcel Energy, Inc.

3:25 p.m. Panel discussion with representatives of the electric utility industry

4:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons

4:15 p.m. Committee discussion

4:30 p.m. Recess

Tuesday, October 10, 2017, Room 335, National Energy Center of Excellence, Bismarck State College, Bismarck

7:45 a.m. Comments by the Chairman

7:50 a.m. Recess for the 2017 Great Plains and EmPower ND Energy Conference (agenda

attached)

4:15 p.m. Committee discussion

4:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Rich Wardner (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Jim Dotzenrod, Merrill Piepkorn, David S. Rust,

Jessica Unruh

Representatives: Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Ben Koppelman, Corey Mock, Todd Porter, Gary R.

Sukut

Staff Contact: Adam Mathiak, Fiscal Analyst