NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, November 1, 2017 Red River Valley Room, Hektner Student Center, North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, North Dakota Thursday, November 2, 2017

Prairie Rose Room, Memorial Union, North Dakota State University, Fargo, North Dakota

Wednesday, November 1, 2017, Red River Valley Room, Hektner Student Center, North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton

1:00 p.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the August 22-23, 2017, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

1:05 p.m. Presentation by Dr. John Richman, President, North Dakota State College of Science,

of:

An overview of the institution;

An overview of the institution's strategic plan; and

A tour of the institution

2:30 p.m. Break

2:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Larry A. Isaak, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact

(MHEC), Minneapolis, Minnesota, regarding:

The North Dakota higher education funding formula

Funding models in other states

MHEC services

3:45 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding tuition and fee data and state

appropriation data compiled by the State Higher Education Executive Officers

Association

4:00 p.m. Recess

Thursday, November 2, 2017, Prairie Rose Room, Memorial Union, North Dakota State University, Fargo

8:30 a.m. Comments by Governor Doug Burgum regarding North Dakota higher education

9:15 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Dean L. Bresciani, President, North Dakota State University, of:

An overview of the institution;

An overview of the institution's strategic plan; and

A tour of the institution

10:40 a.m. Break

10:50 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Tammy Dolan, Chief Financial Officer, North Dakota University

System, regarding:

• The North Dakota higher education funding formula, including potential modifications to the formula: and

· Other institution funds

12:20 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

12:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Rich S. Becker, Lois Delmore, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, Gary Paur,

Mike Schatz

Senators: Robert Erbele, David Hogue, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, Larry J.

Robinson, Jim P. Roers

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Fiscal Analyst