## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

## NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the September 20, 2017, meeting
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Julie Fedorchak, Commissioner, Public Service Commission, regarding wind energy jurisdiction, the Energy Conversion and Transmission Facility Siting Act, and the rules governing decommissioning of commercial wind energy conversion facilities
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Lacee Anderson, representative of Montana-Dakota Utilities, regarding a retrospective overview of previous state legislation relating to wind energy development
- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by representatives of NextEra Energy Resources, LLC, regarding:
  - · Wind energy development and marketing
  - Wind energy siting
  - The impact of wind energy development on the environment
- 10:15 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 10:35 a.m. Break
- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Kayla Pulvermacher, Member Advocacy Director, North Dakota Farmers Union, regarding the impact of wind energy development on farmers and ranchers
- 10:55 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Pete Hanebutt, Director, Public Policy, North Dakota Farm Bureau, regarding the impact of wind energy development on agriculture and rural communities
- 11:10 a.m. Presentation by a representative of North Dakota Association of Counties, regarding local-level perspective and input on wind energy development
- 11:25 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft [19.0018.01000] regarding energy conversion facilities and correction of the codification issues caused by the conflict between 2017 House Bill No. 1144 and Senate Bill No. 2286
- 1:15 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Edward Murphy, State Geologist, Geological Survey, Department of Mineral Resources, of a bill draft [19.0038.03000] relating to the Industrial Commission issuing a notice of disapproval in regard to high-level radioactive waste disposal when the Legislative Assembly is not in session
- 2:10 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 2:20 p.m. Committee discussion regarding future meetings and other administrative matters
- 2:30 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Jay Seibel (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Roger Brabandt, Mike Brandenburg, Tom Kading, Vernon Laning, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Vicky Steiner, Greg Westlind Senators: Bill L. Bowman, Diane Larson, Larry Luick, Merrill Piepkorn

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel