## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

### Tentative Agenda

# **TRIBAL TAXATION ISSUES COMMITTEE**

### Friday, December 15, 2017 MHA Rooms, 4 Bears Casino & Lodge, 202 Frontage Road New Town, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Color guard: Young Hawk/Elmer Bear Post 253 Flag song: Oakdale Singers drum group Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 31, 2017, meeting Opening remarks
- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Tax Commissioner of an analysis of tribalstate taxation agreements of other states
  - Presentation by Senator Cook and a representative of the Tax Commissioner of a bill draft prepared by the Tax Commissioner's office relating to tribal-state sales tax agreements
  - Committee discussion
  - Update and discussion with leadership representing the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation
  - Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Update and discussion with leadership representing the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe
- 1:30 p.m. Update and discussion with leadership representing the Spirit Lake Sioux Tribe
- 2:00 p.m. Update and discussion with leadership representing the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians
- 2:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Scott J. Davis, Executive Director, Indian Affairs Commission, regarding collaborative action plans
- 3:00 p.m. Discussion regarding the unmanned aircraft systems pilot program and the potential role of tribal nations
- 3:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons Committee discussion Scheduling of future meetings
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

### **Committee Members**

Chairman: Governor Doug Burgum Representatives: Al Carlson, Craig Headland, Corey Mock Senators: Dwight Cook, Joan Heckaman, Rich Wardner Citizen Members: Scott J. Davis, Ryan Rauschenberger, Brent Sanford

Staff Contacts: Vonette J. Richter, Code Revisor Emily L. Thompson, Counsel