NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE TELECONFERENCE MEETING

Thursday, January 11, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the October 10, 2017, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to weapons
- 9:15 a.m. Committee discussion
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Troy T. Seibel, Chief Deputy Attorney General, regarding the study of provisions relating to firearms and weapons
- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Robert Timian, Division Chief/Chief Warden, Game and Fish Department, relating to forfeiture procedures
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Nick Vaughn, Assistant Attorney General, and Ms. Katie Fitzsimmons, Director of Student Affairs, North Dakota University System, relating to the firearms and weapons policy used at institutions of higher education
- 10:20 a.m. Break
- 10:35 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 10:40 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Coleen Globke, Executive Director, All About U Adoptions, on the interstate adoption process
- 11:10 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Julie M. Hoffman, Adoptions Administrator, Children and Family Services, Department of Human Services, regarding the adoption process
- 11:45 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Donnell Preskey Hushka, Government/Public Relations Specialist, North Dakota Association of Counties, regarding the costs associated with publishing legal notices
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Blake Crosby, Executive Director, North Dakota League of Cities, regarding the publishing of legal notices
- 1:55 p.m Comments by interested persons
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. H. Jean Delaney, Executive Director, Commission on Legal Counsel for Indigents, of an annual report of pertinent data on the indigent defense contract system and the established public defender offices
- 2:20 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 2:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), John Grabinger, Diane Larson, Janne Myrdal

Representatives: Roger Brabandt, Lois Delmore, Terry B. Jones, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, Jeffery J. Magrum, Shannon M. Roers Jones, Bernie Satrom, Luke Simons

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel