NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the November 20, 2017, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Comments by the Chairman
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Gail Schauer, Director, School Approval & Opportunity, Department of Public Instruction, regarding required reports on accreditation of schools
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, Superintendent of Public Instruction, regarding an update of the statewide K-12 strategic vision
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Baesler regarding innovative education program reports required by 2017 Senate Bill No. 2186
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:45 a.m.	Presentations by Mr. Cory Steiner, Superintendent, Northern Cass School District; Ms. Melissa Uetz, Customized Lead Learning Facilitator, Jaguar Academy; and Mr. Jason Markusen, Principal, Legacy Elementary School (West Fargo), regarding implementation of new innovative processes, teaching methods, and opportunities to create efficiencies in education through the use of innovative processes and teaching methods
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Levi Bachmeier, K-12 Education Policy Advisor, Governor's office, regarding updates and potential policy changes from the innovative task force on education, and K-12 state agency efficiency work
2:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
2:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jeff Fastnacht, Superintendent, Ellendale School District, regarding suggestions on school reporting efficiencies
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. Aimee Copas, Executive Director, North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders, regarding updates on efficiencies and coordination between K-12 service agencies and providers
3:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Luke Schaefer, Executive Director, Mid Dakota Education Cooperative, regarding an update on the merger and efficiency progress of regional education associations
3:15 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
3:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Erin Oban (Chairman), Kyle Davison, Richard Marcellais, Donald Schaible, Shawn Vedaa Representatives: Rich S. Becker, Ron Guggisberg, Mary Johnson, Donald W. Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, David Monson, Bill Oliver, Mark S. Owens, Matthew Ruby, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel