NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE

Tuesday, June 26, 2018 Microsoft Corporation 4550 42nd Street South Fargo, North Dakota

8:00 a.m.	Call to order		
	Roll call		

Consideration of the minutes of the March 22, 2018, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

MICROSOFT

8:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Sandi Piatz, Site Leader, Microsoft, regarding Microsoft personnel and facilities

8:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Taya Spelhaug, TechSpark Manager, Microsoft, regarding Microsoft investment in rural America using the TechSpark program

8:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Stuart McKee, Chief Technology Officer, Microsoft, regarding cloud services, cloud security, and the potential for state government use of cloud technologies

9:30 a.m. Tour of Microsoft facilities

10:30 a.m. Travel to Dakota Carrier Network, 3901 Great Plains Drive South, Fargo

DAKOTA CARRIER NETWORK

10:45 a.m. Tour of Dakota Carrier Network facilities

12:00 noon Return to Microsoft Luncheon recess

BLOCKCHAIN

12:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Stephen Newell, Blockchain Leader, IBM Corp., regarding blockchain technology and its potential for state government

CLOUD COMPUTING AND SHARED SERVICES UNIFICATION

1:30 p.m.

Presentations by Mr. Shawn Riley, Chief Information Officer, Information Technology Department, and representatives of the Information Technology Department (ITD) regarding an update of cloud computing and shared services unification initiatives, including:

- A cost-benefit analysis of transitioning state systems to the cloud
- A list of North Dakota applications using cloud-based services and when they were transitioned to the cloud
- An inventory of state systems and applications, identifying which systems can be moved to the cloud and which systems require modification or rewriting to move to the cloud
- Projected cloud costs for the 2017-19, 2019-21, and future bienniums, including a comparison to on-premise technologies
- Funding source totals by agency for all information technology employees included in the unification plan

REPORT FROM THE CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER

- 2:05 p.m. Presentations by Mr. Riley and representatives of ITD regarding:
 - A report regarding the coordination of services with political subdivisions pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 54-59-12
 - Other department initiatives

EDUCATION-RELATED INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY UPDATES

Presentation by the Chief Information Officer of the North Dakota University System 2:15 p.m. regarding higher education technology activities, including the most recent quarterly large project summary report and predictive analytics reporting implementation

Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Educational Technology Council 2:25 p.m. regarding elementary and secondary education information technology activities, including information regarding North Dakota Center for Distance Education student enrollment

LARGE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY PROJECT REPORTING

2:40 p.m. Presentation by a representative of ITD regarding the most recent guarterly summary status report on large information technology projects and the most recent project startup and closeout reports

Startup Reports

- Department of Human Services New Medicare Card project
- Workforce Safety and Insurance Claims and Policy System Release 6

Closeout Reports

- Department of Public Instruction ND Foods 2.0 project
- Bank of North Dakota Managed file transfer project

STUDY OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DEPARTMENT SERVICE RATES

- 2:50 p.m. Presentation by a representative of ITD regarding a response to comments from state agencies regarding their experiences with ITD information technology services provided during the March 2018 meeting
- Presentation by a representative of ITD regarding ITD services and rates, including the 3:05 p.m. following services:
 - Computer hosting services
 - · Direct bill back services
 - Other services

OTHER

3:35 p.m. C	Committee discussior	regarding	proposed	legislation
-------------	----------------------	-----------	----------	-------------

3:50 p.m. Comments by interested persons

3:55 p.m. Committee discussion

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Corey Mock (Chairman), Randy Boehning, Glenn Bosch, Christopher D. Olson,

Gary R. Sukut, Robin Weisz

Senators: Howard C. Anderson, Jr., Kyle Davison, Richard Marcellais, Larry J. Robinson, Terry M.

Wanzek

Citizen Member: Shawn Riley

Staff Contact: Levi Kinnischtzke, Fiscal Analyst