NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

INITIATED AND REFERRED MEASURES STUDY COMMISSION

Tuesday, March 20, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the November 30, 2017, meeting

9:05 a.m. Comments by the Chairman

9:10 a.m. Discussion of bill drafts and constitutional amendment resolution drafts requested by Commission members:

- Bill draft requiring fiscal impact of initiated measure to be printed on ballot
- Bill draft requiring preparation of fiscal impacts of referred measures
- Bill draft eliminating special reporting requirements for out-of-state contributions
- Bill draft and resolution draft requiring sponsoring committees of initiated measures to consult with the Secretary of State and Attorney General on drafting
- Resolution draft to allow out-of-state petition circulators
- Resolution draft to require initiated measures for constitutional amendments to be voted on in general elections
- Resolution drafts to require all initiated measures to be voted on in general elections
- Resolution draft to require initiated measures be drafted by the Legislative Council
- Resolution draft to require biennial approval by the Legislative Assembly and Governor of constitutional amendments that require the expenditure of a threshold sum of funds
- Bill draft requiring petition title and ballot language be identical and no longer than one hundred words
- Bill draft requiring impartial mediation of Secretary of State's proposed petition title and ballot language
- Resolution draft to change the filing deadline for signed petitions from 120 days before the election to 90 days before the election

10:30 a.m.	Break
10:45 a.m.	Continue discussion of bill and resolution drafts requested by Commission members
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Continue discussion of bill and resolution drafts requested by Commission members
2:30 p.m.	Break

2:45 p.m. Continue discussion of bill and resolution drafts requested by Commission members

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Commission Members

Chairman: Surrogate Judge William A. Neumann Senators: David Hogue, Gary A. Lee, Erin Oban

Representatives: Jim Kasper, Scott Louser, Vicky Steiner Citizen Members: Nick Archuleta, Brent Bogar, Ellen Chaffee, Kirsten Diederich, Robert Hale, Pete

Hanebutt, Alvin A. Jaeger, Jack McDonald, Sara Meier, Kayla Pulvermacher, Jonathan

Sickler, Conner Swanson

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Counsel