NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUSTICE REINVESTMENT COMMITTEE

Thursday, April 26, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the January 10, 2018, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Mike Borr, Director, University Police and Safety Office, North Dakota State University, on efforts to engage the community to keep North Dakota State University a safe place to live, learn, work, and visit
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Aaron Birst, Legal Counsel, North Dakota Association of Counties, on reactions to justice reinvestment
- 9:35 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Pamela Sagness, Director, Behavioral Health Division, Department of Human Services, regarding the progress of justice reinvestment
- 10:00 a.m. Break
- 10:10 a.m. Presentation by Lieutenant Danny Weigel, Interim Associate Director of Emergency Management, University of North Dakota, on efforts to engage the community to keep the University of North Dakota a safe place to live, learn, work, and visit
- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Rob Johnson, Director, Lake Region Law Enforcement Center, regarding the progress of justice reinvestment
- 10:35 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 10:45 a.m. Committee discussion
- 10:55 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Michelle Kommer, Executive Director, Job Service North Dakota, regarding programs and training available to an individual upon re-entry into the community following a period of incarceration
- 11:10 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Leann K. Bertsch, Director, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, regarding programming available to an individual prior to re-entry into the community
- 11:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Greg Larson, Realtor, relating to the housing market for convicted felons
- 11:40 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Greg Thompson, relating to the housing challenges faced by convicted felons
- 11:55 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Scott J. Davis, Executive Director, Indian Affairs Commission, relating to the relationship between tribal law enforcement and the state court system
- 1:25 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Ladd Erickson, State's Attorney, relating to the relationship between tribal law enforcement and the state court system
- 1:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Travis Finck, Deputy Director, Commission on Legal Counsel for Indigents, relating to the relationship between tribal law enforcement and the state court system

- 2:05 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Lorraine Davis, Executive Director, Native American Development Center, relating to the mission of the Native American Development Center
- 2:35 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:45 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Kelly M. Armstrong (Chairman), Dick Dever, John Grabinger, Dave Oehlke, Arne Osland Representatives: Jake G. Blum, Karla Rose Hanson, Pat D. Heinert, Tom Kading, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Lisa Meier, Jon O. Nelson, Bernie Satrom, Steve Vetter

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel