1:40 p.m.

NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Wednesday, June 6, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order
5.00 d.m.	Roll call
	Consideration of the minutes of the March 29, 2018, meeting
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Kimberly Suedkamp Wells, Manager, Environmental Services, NextEra Energy Resources, regarding environmental permitting for wind energy facilities
9:25 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
9:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mike Humann, Surface Division Manager, Department of Trust Lands, regarding the status of wind energy development on school trust lands and the wind energy easement agreement process
9:50 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
10:00 a.m.	Presentation regarding a response to the Game and Fish Department wind and wildlife collaboration guidelines by:
	Ms. Carlee McLeod, President, Utility Shareholders of North Dakota
	 Mr. Zachary Smith, Communications and Government Relations Director, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives
	 Mr. Josh Kramer, Executive Vice President and General Manager, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives
10:20 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Randy Christmann, Chairman, Public Service Commission, regarding wind developer bond requirements and the Public Service Commission's role in third-party compensatory mitigation option for unavoidable, direct, or indirect impacts
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Greg Link, Division Chief, Conservation and Communications, Game and Fish Department, regarding the development of proposed offsets for wildlife impacts associated with wind projects
11:20 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Brian Kalk, Director of Energy Systems Development, Energy and Environmental Research Center, regarding the progress and status of the pipeline leak detection study
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Carmen Miller, Director of Public Policy, Great Plains Region, Ducks Unlimited, regarding private wetland mitigation efforts, structure, and process
1:20 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mark S. Gaydos, Director, Environmental and Transportation Services Division, Department of Transportation, regarding the Department of

Presentation by Mr. Doug Goehring, Agriculture Commissioner, regarding the

unintended consequences to agriculture producers from wind energy mitigation

Transportation's Wetland Mitigation Program

2:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's studies of issues regarding the impact of wind energy development on the environment, high-level radioactive waste disposal, and the cooperation and communication between the Public Service Commission and political subdivisions

2:20 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

2:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Jay Seibel (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Roger Brabandt, Mike Brandenburg, Tom Kading, Vernon Laning, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Vicky Steiner, Greg Westlind

Senators: Bill L. Bowman, Diane Larson, Larry Luick, Merrill Piepkorn

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel