NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HEALTH CARE REFORM REVIEW COMMITTEE

Thursday, June 28, 2018
Brynhild Haugland Room, State Capitol
Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the May 9, 2018, meeting

Comments by Chairman

9:05 a.m. Presentations regarding managed care for drug benefits coverage:

- Introduction to pharmacy benefit managers (PBM), Ms. Melodie Shrader, Senior Director, State Affairs, and Mr. Peter Harty, Consultant, Pharmaceutical Care Management Association
- Overview of the regulatory environment, Ms. Shrader and Mr. Harty
- Overview of the request for proposal process and pricing mechanism, Ms. Shrader and Mr. Harty
- PBM clinical tools, Ms. LuGina Mendez-Harper, Government Affairs Principal, Prime Therapeutics
- PBM value proposition, Ms. Shrader and Mr. Harty

Committee discussion and directives

11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Brendan Joyce, Administer, Pharmacy Services, Medical Services Division, Department of Human Services, regarding fee for service and managed care organization pharmacy benefit coverage for Medicaid

Committee discussion and directives

11:35 a.m. Comments by Mr. Mike Schwab, Executive Vice President, North Dakota Pharmacists Association, regarding pharmacy benefit coverage

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

11:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dave Molmen, Chief Executive Officer, Altru Health System, representing tertiary hospitals in the state, and Ms. Cristal Thomas Gary, Principal, Leavitt Partners, regarding the activities of the tertiary hospitals relating to options to providing managed care for the state's Medicaid population

Committee discussion and directives

12:15 p.m. Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentations by representatives of the Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara (MHA) Nation and the Spirit Lake Nation regarding the experience of providing health services in Indian country through a managed care model

Committee discussion and directives

1:40 p.m. Presentations by representatives of the MHA Nation, Spirit Lake Nation, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa regarding the status of care coordination agreements for the provision of Medicaid in Indian country

Committee discussion and directives

3:00 p.m. Comments by Ms. Maggie D. Anderson, Division Director, Medical Services Division, Department of Human Services, regarding the status of care coordination agreements for the provision of Medicaid in Indian country

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

3:10 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Bruce Murry, Executive Director, North Dakota Association of Community Providers, regarding managed care services provided by community providers

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

3:35 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Joyal Meyer, Program Administrator, and Ms. Tammie Johnson, Program Administrator, Special Health Services Section, State Department of Health, regarding the status of and proposals for the newborn screening program and metabolic foods program

Committee discussion and directives

3:55 p.m. Committee review of a bill draft to clarify the authority of the Insurance Commissioner to regulate a Public Employees Retirement System self-insurance plan for health benefits and receipt of comments regarding the bill draft from Ms. Sharon Schiermeister, Chief Operating Officer, Public Employees Retirement System, and Mr. Jeff Ubben, Deputy Commissioner, Insurance Department

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

4:25 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jon Godfread, Insurance Commissioner, providing an update on the federal Affordable Care Act and a status report on activities of the Insurance Department

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: George J. Keiser (Chairman), Rick C. Becker, Bill Devlin, Gretchen Dobervich, Kathy Hogan, Jim Kasper, Mike Lefor, Karen M. Rohr, Robin Weisz

Senators: Dick Dever, Jerry Klein, Karen K. Krebsbach, Oley Larsen, Judy Lee, Carolyn C. Nelson, Nicole Poolman

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel