NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HEALTH CARE REFORM REVIEW COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 22, 2018 Coteau AB Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Comments by the Chairman

9:05 a.m. Committee review of a bill draft relating to the requirements and regulation of a self-

funded plan for state employee health benefits

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

9:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Cristal Thomas Gary, Principal, Leavitt Partners, regarding the

status of tertiary hospitals in the state investigating options for an urban model concept

of providing managed care for the state's Medicaid population

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

9:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Christopher D. Jones, Executive Director, Department of Human

Services, regarding the relationship of managed care to Medicaid and Department of

Human Services operations

Committee discussion and directives

10:35 a.m. Break

10:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jon Godfread, Insurance Commissioner, regarding the status of the

federal Affordable Care Act, alternative health plans such as association health plans and limited short-term health plans, and state regulation of managed care organizations

Committee discussion and directives

11:30 a.m. Introduction of managed care organizations participating in the panel discussion of

managed care for the state's Medicaid population

Aetna

· Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota

Medica

· Meridian Health Plan

Sanford Health Plan

· WellCare Health Plans

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Panel discussion of managed care organizations regarding managed care for the

state's Medicaid population

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: George J. Keiser (Chairman), Rick C. Becker, Bill Devlin, Gretchen Dobervich, Kathy Hogan, Jim Kasper, Mike Lefor, Karen M. Rohr, Robin Weisz

Senators: Dick Dever, Jerry Klein, Karen K. Krebsbach, Oley Larsen, Judy Lee, Carolyn C. Nelson,

Nicole Poolman

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel