#### NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

# **EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE**

Monday, December 3, 2018 Prairie Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:30 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the October 25-26, 2018, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

## **AGENCY UPDATES**

10:35 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Teachers' Fund for Retirement (TFFR) of a

TFFR status report and a followup on the 2018 TFFR actuarial valuation report

Committee discussion and directives

10:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Scott Miller, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement

System, of a Public Employees Retirement System (PERS) status report and an

overview of defined contribution and defined benefits

Committee discussion and directives

## **BILL DRAFT ACTUARIAL REVIEWS**

11:15 am.

Committee consideration and receipt of technical comments, actuarial information, and public comments relating to the following bill drafts over which the committee has taken jurisdiction which affect, actuarially or otherwise, the retirement programs of state employees or employees of any political subdivision, and health and retiree health plans of state employees or employees of any political subdivision pursuant to Section 54-35-02.4:

- Bill Draft No. 382, which provides for closure of the PERS main plan for new state hires and provides for the use of Legacy Fund principal to pay the unfunded liability of the plan
- Bill Draft No. 383, which provides for closure of the PERS main plan for new state and political subdivision hires and provides for the use of Legacy Fund principal to pay the unfunded liability of the plan
- Bill Draft No. 388, which provides state employees who opt for family health insurance coverage would be responsible to pay 15 percent of the difference between the cost of an individual plan and a family plan

Committee discussion and directives

12:00 noon Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Representatives: Mike Lefor (Chairman), Jason Dockter, Gary Kreidt, Vernon Laning, Alisa Mitskog,

Mark S. Owens, Matthew Ruby

Senators: Brad Bekkedahl, Dick Dever, Karen K. Krebsbach, Oley Larsen, Gary A. Lee, Tim Mathern

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel