NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

COMMERCE COMMITTEE

Monday, August 12, 2019 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Comments by the Chairman regarding committee responsibilities Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management

DISTRIBUTION OF FOOD IN RURAL COMMUNITIES STUDY

- 10:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee's study of the distribution and transportation of food in rural communities
- 10:20 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Lori Capouch, Rural Development Director, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, regarding the North Dakota Rural Grocery Initiative
- 10:30 a.m. Comments from interested persons regarding study of the distribution and transportation of food in rural communities
- 10:45 a.m. Committee discussion

SEWAGE TREATMENT SYSTEM REGULATION STUDY

- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee's study of the regulation of sewage treatment system installation, maintenance, testing, and repair
- 11:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dave Glatt, Director, Department of Environmental Quality, regarding the current regulation of onsite sewage treatment systems
- 11:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jim Heckman, Director, Environmental Health, First District Health Unit, regarding the regulation of onsite sewage treatment systems by public health units
- 11:30 a.m. Comments from interested persons regarding the regulation of sewage treatment system installation, maintenance, testing, and repair
- 11:50 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess

DISCLOSURE OF CONSUMERS' PERSONAL DATA STUDY

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee's study of the protections, enforcement, and remedies regarding the disclosure of consumers' personal data
- 1:10 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Parrell D. Grossman, Director, Consumer Protection and Antitrust Division, Office of Attorney General, regarding an update on Uniform Law Commission Study Committee on data breach notification
- 1:20 p.m. Presentation by Representative Jim Kasper regarding disclosure of consumers' personal data
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Ethan Hellier, Manager, Congressional and Public Affairs, United States Chamber of Commerce, regarding privacy regulation at national and state levels

- 1:40 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Aaron J. Burstein, Partner, Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP, regarding developments in the marketplace on privacy and technology and pratical challenges and consumer impacts of state privacy legislation
- 1:50 p.m. Presentation by a representative of Microsoft regarding privacy regulation
- 2:00 p.m. Comments from interested persons regarding the disclosure of consumers' personal data
- 2:30 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:50 p.m. Break

UNMANNED AIRCRAFT SYSTEMS STUDY

- 3:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee's study of the future administration and regulation of the unmanned aircraft systems industry in North Dakota, including beyond visual line of sight unmanned aircraft system
- 3:10 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Kyle C. Wanner, Executive Director, North Dakota Aeronautics Commission, regarding the role of the commission, aircraft registration, and the unmanned aircraft system industry
- 3:20 p.m. Presentation by Mr. James Leiman, Director, Economic Development and Finance Division, Department of Commerce, and Mr. Nicholas Flom, Executive Director, Northern Plains Unmanned Aircraft Systems Test Site, regarding a semiannual report on status of the unmanned aircraft systems test site, pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 54-60-28, and development of the beyond visual line of sight unmanned aircraft system program
- 3:30 p.m. Comments from interested persons regarding the future administration and regulation of the unmanned aircraft system industry in the state
- 3:45 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Scott Louser (Chairman), Pamela Anderson, Thomas Beadle, Terry B. Jones, Jim Kasper, Jeffery J. Magrum, Corey Mock, Mike Nathe, Emily O'Brien, Shannon Roers Jones, Randy A. Schobinger, Denton Zubke Senators: Randy Burckhard, Jim Dotzenrod, Scott Meyer, Ronald Sorvaag, Shawn Vedaa

Staff Contact: Jill Grossman, Counsel