## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## **Tentative Agenda**

## **ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, October 23, 2019 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 14, 2019, meeting
	Comments by the Chairman
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. John DiDonato, Vice President Development and Origination, NextEra Energy Resources, LLC, regarding NextEra's role and history within wind energy development and a status update on wind energy transmission
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Chris Kunkle, Government and Regulatory Affairs Manager, Apex Clean Energy, Inc., regarding wind energy development and transmission throughout North Dakota and wind energy development challenges and opportunities in North Dakota
11:00 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
11:10 a.m.	Break
11:20 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. John Weeda, Director, North Dakota Transmission Authority, regarding a status update on wind energy transmission
11:50 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ryan Rauschenberger, Tax Commissioner, regarding wind energy taxation and the distribution of tax collections related to wind energy
1:15 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Brian Kroshus, Chairman, Public Service Commission, regarding the Public Service Commission's jurisdiction over wind energy siting and a status update on wind energy conversion facility siting
2:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
2:10 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
2:30 p.m.	Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Rich Wardner (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Kathy Hogan, Ray Holmberg, Merrill Piepkorn,

David S. Rust

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel