

North Dakota Legislative Council

STATE CAPITOL, 600 EAST BOULEVARD, BISMARCK, ND 58505-0360

John Bjornson Director

Allen H. Knudson Legislative Budget Analyst & Auditor

Vonette J. Richter Legal Division Director

Jason J. Steckler Administrative Services Division Director

Emily L. Thompson Code Revisor

October 16, 2019

REVISED MEETING NOTICE

Representative Lawrence R. Klemin, Chairman, has called a meeting of the JUDICIARY COMMITTEE.

Date, Wednesday, November 13, 2019, 9:00 a.m., Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck Time, Thursday, November 14, 2019, 9:00 a.m., Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck and Place:

Agenda: Presentation of information, discussion, and testimony regarding the committee's studies of the state's charitable gaming laws, the state's civil commitment laws and procedures under North Dakota Century Code Chapters 25-03.1 and 25-03.2 and the behavioral health and civil justice systems to determine whether steps could be taken to prevent and to decrease the incidence of violence committed by persons who are mentally ill, the juvenile justice process; the implementation and requirements of Article XIV of the Constitution of North Dakota concerning the transparency of funding sources, lobbyists, conflicts of interest and related matters, the responsibilities of the Legislative Assembly and the Ethics Commission, and potential issues under the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of North Dakota; and the implications of the potential adoption of an initiated measure allowing the use of recreational marijuana

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Lawrence R. Klemin, Ruth Buffalo, Karla Rose Hanson, Pat D. Heinert, Mary Johnson, Daniel Johnston, Terry B. Jones, Karen Karls, Jim Kasper, Kim Koppelman, Aaron McWilliams, Bob Paulson, Shannon Roers Jones, Steve Vetter; Senators JoNell A. Bakke, Michael Dwyer, John Grabinger,

Diane Larson, Larry Luick, Janne Myrdal

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

/S/ John Bjornson Director

JB/BM

701.328.2916 Fax 701.328.3615 www.legis.nd.gov lcouncil@nd.gov