## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## **Tentative Agenda**

## **AGRICULTURE AND TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE**

Thursday, December 12, 2019 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:30 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the October 3, 2019, meeting
9:35 a.m.	Comments by the Chairman
9:40 a.m.	Committee discussion regarding the central indexing system study
9:50 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Linda Sitz, Strategic Innovation Manager, Department of Transportation, regarding an update on the electric vehicle infrastructure coalition and future plans
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Angela Seligman, Environmental Scientist, Division of Air Quality, Department of Environmental Quality, regarding an overview of the Volkswagen settlement and fund in relation to the electric vehicle infrastructure study
10:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the central indexing system study and the electric vehicle infrastructure study
10:45 a.m.	Committee discussion regarding the central indexing study and the electric vehicle infrastructure study
11:00 a.m.	Break
11:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Wayde Swenson, Director of Operations, Office of Operations, Department of Transportation, regarding how the department envisions an intrastate and interstate road train pilot program would operate, state and federal approvals that would be required, concerns, and recommendations
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Sergeant Wade Kadrmas, Public Information Officer, Highway Patrol, regarding an overview, concerns, and recommendations regarding the operation, infrastructure impact, costs, and funding associated with a road train pilot program
11:50 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the road train pilot program study
1:10 p.m.	Committee discussion regarding the road train pilot program study
1:25 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Tracy A. Kennedy, Partner, Zimney Foster P.C., regarding an overview of how financial institutions address bankruptcy and insolvency issues related to the grain industry and grain elevators
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding changes to North Dakota Century Code Title 60 as recommended by the Department of Agriculture
2:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the agricultural issues study
2:45 p.m.	Committee discussion regarding the agricultural issues study
3:00 p.m.	Break
3:05 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Doug Goehring, Agriculture Commissioner, regarding concerns and recommendations related to a road train pilot program

3:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Goehring of a required report regarding the status of the activities of the Advisory Committee on Sustainable Agriculture

3:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

3:45 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Dennis Johnson (Chairman), Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Jay Fisher, Craig Johnson, Dwight Kiefert, Dan Ruby, Kathy Skroch, Wayne A. Trottier, Greg Westlind

Senators: Jim Dotzenrod, Kathy Hogan, Oley Larsen, Randy D. Lemm, Larry Luick, Janne Myrdal,

Terry M. Wanzek

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel