#### NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

# **EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

1:00 p.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the April 18, 2019, and October 23, 2019, meetings Comments by the Chairman

## RETIREMENT AND INVESTMENT OFFICE

1:05 p.m. Presentation by Mr. David J. Hunter, Executive Director and Chief Investment Officer, Retirement and Investment Office, regarding the status of state investments

Committee discussion and directives

## **BILL DRAFT ACTUARIAL REVIEW**

1:15 p.m. Committee consideration of a bill draft regarding a public employee retirement plan for public safety telecommunicators to determine whether the bill draft affects, actuarially or otherwise, the retirement programs of state employees or employees of any political subdivision, and health and retiree health plans of state employees or employees of any political subdivision pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 54-35-02.4

Committee discussion and directives

#### PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM

- 1:30 p.m. Committee review of a memorandum entitled *Public Employees Retirement System Main System Funding History and Options*
- 1:40 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Scott Miller, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement System, regarding:
  - The liability of the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS) fund and options for reaching full funding;
  - The status of the PERS legislative package for 2021;
  - An overview of the PERS audit;
  - An overview and status report on the PERS health insurance reserve fund;
  - An overview of the PERS change in pharmacy benefits managers; and
  - Limitations to health savings accounts for seniors

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

#### PHARMACY BENEFITS STUDY

3:00 p.m. Committee review of House Bill No. 1374 (2019) and a memorandum entitled *Uniform Group Insurance Prescription Drug Benefits - Employee Benefits Programs Committee - Background Memorandum* 

3:20 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Miller regarding the status of implementation of House Bill No. 1374

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Mike Lefor (Chairman), Jason Dockter, LaurieBeth Hager, Craig Johnson, Vernon Laning, Matthew Ruby, Austen Schauer

Senators: Howard C. Anderson Jr., Brad Bekkedahl, Dick Dever, Karen K. Krebsbach, Richard Marcellais, Kristin Roers

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel