NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call
	Consideration of the minutes of the September 24, 2019, meeting
9:05 a.m.	PROPERTY TAX REPORT Demonstration by a representative of the Tax Department of an online property tax levy look-up tool and presentation of:
	The statewide average taxable value percentage increase for 2019
	The amount paid by the state to each county for social service costs
	Additional property tax increase information
9:30 a.m.	SPECIAL ASSESSMENT REVENUE REPLACEMENT STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum detailing the elected or appointed status of those imposing special assessments and review of Engrossed House Bill No. 1474 (2019)
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Keith Hunke, City Administrator, City of Bismarck, regarding the use of special assessments, potential revenue replacement options, and suggested changes to Engrossed House Bill No. 1474
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Allen Grasser, City Engineer, City of Grand Forks, regarding the use of special assessments, potential revenue replacement options, and suggested changes to Engrossed House Bill No. 1474
10:20 a.m.	Break
10:35 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the City of Fargo, regarding the use of special assessments, potential revenue replacement options, and suggested changes to Engrossed House Bill No. 1474
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Tom Barry, City Manager, City of Minot, regarding the use of special assessments, potential revenue replacement options, and suggested changes to Engrossed House Bill No. 1474
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. David Tuan, City Administrator, City of Williston, regarding the use of special assessments, potential revenue replacement options, and suggested changes to Engrossed House Bill No. 1474
11:35 a.m.	Comments from interested persons regarding the committee's study of special assessment revenue replacement options
11:50 a.m.	Committee discussion
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TAX INCENTIVES STUDY

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Ellen Harpel, Founder, Smart Incentives, regarding evaluating the effectiveness of economic development tax incentives
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding the history of fuel tax rate changes

1:40 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department of fiscal information relating to coal severance and conversion tax exemptions, oil and gas gross production and oil extraction tax exemptions, and fuel tax refunds for certain users
2:00 p.m.	Comments from interested persons regarding the committee's study of economic development tax incentives
2:15 p.m.	Committee discussion
2:25 p.m.	Break
2:35 p.m.	TAXATION OF ELECTRONIC SMOKING DEVICES STUDY Presentation by Ms. Heather Austin, Executive Director, Tobacco Free North Dakota, regarding recent federal changes increasing the legal age to purchase tobacco products to age 21 and the United States Food and Drug Administration's plans to restrict sales of flavored e-liquid
2:45 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the State Department of Health regarding vaping-related illness cases in North Dakota and updated vaping information released by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
3:00 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding the use of electronic smoking devices by minors
3:15 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding the taxation of electronic smoking device liquid
3:25 p.m.	Comments from interested persons regarding the bill draft and the committee's study of the taxation of electronic smoking devices
3:50 p.m.	Committee discussion
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Grueneich (Chairman), Jason Dockter, Matt Eidson, Sebastian Ertelt, Ron Guggisberg, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig Headland, Tom Kading, Ben Koppelman, Alisa Mitskog, Vicky Steiner

Senators: Dwight Cook, Jim Dotzenrod, Jordan Kannianen, Curt Kreun, Dale Patten, Jessica Unruh

Staff Contact: Emily L. Thompson, Code Revisor