## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## **HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order
	Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the November 21, 2019, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

## **REPORTS**

- 9:10 a.m. Receipt of a report from Mr. Douglas D. Nelson, State Fire Marshal, on the State Fire Marshal's findings and any recommendation for legislation to improve the effectiveness of the law on reduced ignition propensity standards for cigarettes (NDCC § 18-13-02(6))
- 9:25 a.m. Receipt of a status report from Mr. Tim Wiedrich, Section Chief, Health Resources and Response, State Department of Health, on reorganization that has occurred at the State Department of Health
- 9:35 a.m. Receipt of a report from Ms. Janna Pastir, Director, Division of Health Promotion, State Department of Health, on the collaboration by the Department of Human Services, State Department of Health, Indian Affairs Commission, and Public Employees Retirement System to identify goals and benchmarks while also developing individual agency plans to reduce the incidence of diabetes in the state, improve diabetes care, and control complications associated with diabetes (NDCC § 23-01-40)
- 9:45 a.m. Receipt of a report from Ms. Christine Brondyk, EMS Program Representative, Stroke/Cardiac System, State Department of Health, regarding progress made toward the recommendations provided in Section 23-43-04 regarding the state comprehensive stroke system and any recommendations for future legislation (NDCC § 23-43-04)
- 9:55 a.m. Receipt of a report from Ms. Kim Mertz, Section Chief, Health and Safe Communities, State Department of Health, on the status and progress of implementing a public awareness campaign to provide information, public service announcements, and educational materials regarding abandoned infants and approved locations for abandoned infants (2019 House Bill No. 1285, § 2)
- 10:05 a.m. Receipt of a report from Mr. Wiedrich regarding the implementation of innovation waivers for health facilities construction or renovation projects (2019 Senate Bill No. 2317, § 4)
- 10:15 a.m. Receipt of a status report from Mr. Mike Schwab, Executive Vice President, North Dakota Pharmacists Association, on pharmacy-related litigation and direct and indirect remuneration fees
- 10:30 a.m. Receipt of a status report from Mr. Neil Charvat, Director, Tobacco Prevention and Control Program, State Department of Health, regarding federal laws relating to e-cigarettes and tobacco
- 10:40 a.m. Receipt of a status report from representatives of the State Department of Health on the status of the novel Coronavirus, SARS-CoV-2, and COVID-19

PREMIUM TREND STUDY

11:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jeffrey C. Greene, Chief Executive Officer, Medencentive,

regarding a health literacy incentive program

Committee discussion and directives

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. Review of a bill draft relating to biosimilar drugs

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

1:30 p.m. Review of a bill draft relating to drug cost transparency

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

2:00 p.m. Insurance panel discussion regarding Minnesota's hospital price transparency laws and

utilization trends for high-deductible health plans

Committee discussion and directives

2:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jon Godfread, Insurance Commissioner, regarding:

The status of the Insurance Department's hospital study;

• The status of the invisible risk pool;

• The status of the Comprehensive Health Association of North Dakota (CHAND); and

• The status of air ambulance litigation and balance billing

Committee discussion and directives

**GUARANTEED ISSUE STUDY** 

3:45 p.m. Committee review of a bill draft to provide for guaranteed issue of health insurance

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

**HEALTH CARE DELIVERY STUDY** 

4:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Adam Parker, Southwest Region Director, North Dakota EMS

Association, regarding use of emergency medical services personnel in rural

communities

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

4:30 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: George Keiser (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Gretchen Dobervich, Clayton Fegley, Jim

Kasper, Mike Lefor, Lisa Meier, Marvin E. Nelson, Bob Paulson, Robin Weisz

Senators: Dick Dever, Kathy Hogan, Judy Lee, Tim Mathern, Dave Oehlke, Kristin Roers, Shawn Vedaa

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel