

Tentative Agenda

21.5097.02000

Revised 2/4/2020

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Thursday, February 13, 2020 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the November 14, 2019, meeting

ELECTRICAL GENERATION MARKET REVIEW

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Jean Schafer, Senior Legislative Representative, Basin Electric

Power Cooperative and Mr. Jay Skabo, Vice President of Electric Supply, Montana-

Dakota Utilities Co., regarding electrical generation markets

REGIONAL TRANSMISSION ORGANIZATIONS

9:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Brian Tulloh, Executive Director, North Region External Affairs

Division, Midcontinent Independent System Operator, Inc., regarding the interconnection and queue development process, renewable integration impact study

results, and progress on market pricing process changes

10:50 a.m. Break

11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Mike Ross, Senior Vice President, Government Affairs and Public

Relations, and Mr. Bruce Rew, Senior Vice President, Operations, Southwest Power Pool, Inc., regarding the interconnection and queue development process, renewable integration impact study results, and progress on market pricing process changes

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

ELECTRIC TRANSMISSION

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. John Weeda, Director, North Dakota Transmission Authority,

regarding challenges to and updates on the marketing and transmission of electricity

1:25 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Gordy Pietsch, Transmission Planning and Compliance Director,

Great River Energy, regarding the CapX2050 Transmission Vision Study

ELECTRIC UTILITY PANEL

1:40 p.m. Panel discussion regarding utility company updates and challenges:

Mr. Tony Ramunno, Portfolio Delivery Director, Great River Energy

- Ms. Stacey Dahl, Senior Manager of External Affairs, Minnkota Power Cooperative
- Ms. Julie Pierce, Vice President of Strategy and Planning, ALLETE, Inc.
- Mr. Bradley E. Tollerson, Vice President, Energy Supply, Otter Tail Power Company
- Mr. John Marshall, Director of Community Relations, Xcel Energy, Inc.
- Ms. Jean Schafer, Senior Legislative Representative, Basin Electric Power Cooperative
- Mr. Jay Skabo, Vice President of Electric Supply, Montana-Dakota Utilities Co.

LIGNITE DEVELOPMENTS AND CHALLENGES

3:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jason Bohrer, President and Chief Executive Officer, Lignite Energy Council, regarding federal and state challenges facing the lignite industry, and lignite research and development updates

3:40 p.m. Comments by interested persons

3:50 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Rich Wardner (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Kathy Hogan, Ray Holmberg, Merrill Piepkorn,

David S. Rust

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel