

Tentative Agenda

21.5100.02000

Revised 2/18/2020

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Lab 1119, Bisek Hall, North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, North Dakota Thursday, February 20, 2020
Diederich Atrium, Harry D. McGovern Alumni Center, North Dakota State University, 1241 North University Drive, Fargo, North Dakota

Wednesday, February 19,	2020, Lal) 1119, E	Bisek Hall,	North	Dakota	State	College	of	Science,
Wahpeton									

1:00 p.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the November 4-5, 2019, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

1:05 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota State College of Science of an

overview of the institution, including TrainND - Southeast, the institution foundation,

current and future capital spending, and academic program changes

2:15 p.m. Tour of the North Dakota State College of Science

3:15 p.m. Break

3:30 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding

campus space utilization

3:55 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding:

Distance education

· Certificate programs

4:30 p.m. Recess

Thursday, February 20, 2020, Diederich Atrium, Harry D. McGovern Alumni Center, North Dakota State University, 1241 North University Drive, Fargo

8:00 a.m. Reconvene and comments by the Chairman

8:05 a.m. Presentation by representatives of North Dakota State University of an overview of the

institution, including research conducted by the university, the institution foundation,

current and future capital spending, and academic program changes

9:30 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota State University main research

center regarding agricultural research conducted by the research center

10:00 a.m. Break

10:15 a.m. Tour of North Dakota State University and the North Dakota State University main

research center facilities

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Veterinary Medical Association regarding veterinary needs of the state and the impact of the professional student exchange program
1:30 p.m.	Comments by Governor Doug Burgum regarding North Dakota higher education
2:15 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
2:30 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
2:45 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Rick Becker, Larry Bellew, Matt Eidson, Karla Rose Hanson, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, Donald W. Longmuir, Bob Martinson, David Monson, Gary Paur, Mike Schatz

Senators: Brad Bekkedahl, Robert Erbele, Karen K. Krebsbach, Erin Oban, Larry J. Robinson, Jim P. Roers

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Senior Fiscal Analyst