

1:45 p.m.

2:15 p.m. 2:30 p.m.

Tentative Agenda

21.5107.02000

Revised 3/12/2020

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Tuesday, March 24, 2020 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

	DISTILATOR, NOTHI DARORA
9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the February 4, 2020, meeting
9:05 a.m.	POTENTIAL IMPLICATIONS OF RECREATIONAL MARIJUANA Presentation by Mr. Dale Quigley, Deputy Coordinator, National Marijuana Initiative, High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas Program, relating to the impacts of recreational marijuana
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Kacey Bell Streeper, Adult & Teen Challenge, North Dakota, relating to the potential implications of the legalization of recreational marijuana
10:25 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:40 a.m.	JUVENILE JUSTICE STUDY Presentation by Mr. Joel Friesz, Director, Youth Interventions, Lutheran Social Services of North Dakota, relating to restorative justice for youth
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Jennifer Skjod, Dual Status Youth Coordinator, North Dakota Supreme Court, relating to the dual status youth initiative
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Anna Schimmelpfenning, Assistant Mental Health Director and Clinical Supervisor, Red River Children's Advocacy Center, relating to juvenile justice
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ryan Strubbe and Ms. Rosa Strubbe relating to the juvenile justice system
11:40 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:55 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding a recent update to North Dakota Rules of Court Rule 5.4
12:00 noon	Recess
1:00 p.m.	IMPLEMENTATION OF ARTICLE XIV OF THE CONSTITUTION OF NORTH DAKOTA STUDY Committee discussion regarding Representative Karla Rose Hanson's proposed bill drafts [21.0059.01000] and [21.0060.01000], relating to the implementation of Article XIV of the Constitution of North Dakota

Presentation by Chairman Klemin of a bill draft [21.0080.02000] relating to written

advisory opinions regarding ethics

Committee work

Break

2:45 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Rosalie Etherington, Superintendent, State Hospital, of a report relating to individuals at the State Hospital who have been committed to the care and custody of the executive director of the Department of Human Services

Presentation by Dr. Christopher Johnson, Presiding Officer, Task Force on the Prevention of Sexual Abuse of Children, of a report of the task force

3:15 p.m. Committee work

3:30 p.m. Adjourn

3:00 p.m.



Committee Members

Representatives: Lawrence R. Klemin (Chairman), Ruth Buffalo, Karla Rose Hanson, Pat D. Heinert, Mary Johnson, Daniel Johnston, Terry B. Jones, Karen Karls, Jim Kasper, Kim Koppelman, Aaron McWilliams, Bob Paulson, Shannon Roers Jones, Steve Vetter Senators: JoNell A. Bakke, Michael Dwyer, John Grabinger, Diane Larson, Larry Luick, Janne Myrdal

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel