

12:00 noon

Recess

Tentative Agenda

21.5129.02000

Revised 7/20/2020

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Due to public health considerations and in accordance with Executive Order 2020-16, a meeting room will not be available to the public for this meeting. A live stream of the meeting will be available to the public at: http://video.legis.nd.gov/. Written comments regarding the committee's agenda topics may be submitted in advance of the meeting to sekramer@nd.gov.

Committee members have the option of attending the meeting remotely or in person. Each committee member is asked to notify legislative council staff at sekramer@nd.gov at least 1 week before the meeting date to indicate whether the member plans to attend the meeting remotely or in person. Staff will provide committee members with call-in or meeting room information before the meeting.

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the February 4, 2020, meeting
9:05 a.m.	POTENTIAL IMPLICATIONS OF RECREATIONAL MARIJUANA Presentation by Mr. Dale Quigley, Deputy Coordinator, National Marijuana Initiative, High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas Program, relating to the impacts of recreational marijuana
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by Pastor Phil Wolverton, Executive Director, Adult & Teen Challenge, North Dakota, relating to the potential implications of the legalization of recreational marijuana
10:25 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:35 a.m.	Break
10:45 a.m.	JUVENILE JUSTICE STUDY Presentation by Mr. Joel Friesz, Director, Youth Interventions, Lutheran Social Services of North Dakota, relating to restorative justice for youth
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Heather Traynor, Coordinator, Court Improvement Program, North Dakota Supreme Court, relating to the dual status youth initiative
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Josh Weber, Justice Center, Council of State Governments, relating to recommendations for the state's juvenile justice system
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Lisa Bjergaard, Director, Division of Juvenile Services, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, of a bill draft [21.0150.01000] relating to the Uniform Juvenile Court Act
11:40 a.m.	Committee discussion
	 Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum entitled Funding for Juvenile Programs
40.00	

- 1:00 p.m.
- Presentation by Dr. Anna Schimmelpfennig, Assistant Mental Health Director and Clinical Supervisor, Red River Children's Advocacy Center, relating to juvenile justice
- Presentation by Mr. Ryan Strubbe and Ms. Rosa Strubbe relating to the juvenile justice system

ARTICLE XIV OF THE CONSTITUTION OF NORTH DAKOTA STUDY

- 1:15 p.m. Committee discussion regarding Representative Hanson's proposed bill drafts [21.0059.01000] and [21.0060.01000], relating to the implementation of Article XIV of the Constitution of North Dakota
- 1:45 p.m. Presentation by Chairman Klemin of a bill draft [21.0080.02000] relating to written advisory opinions regarding ethics
- 2:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. David Thiele, Director, Ethics Commission, of a proposal from the Ethics Commission
- 2:30 p.m. Break
- 2:45 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 3:00 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Rosalie Etherington, Superintendent, State Hospital, of a report relating to individuals at the State Hospital who have been committed to the care and custody of the executive director of the Department of Human Services
- 3:10 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Christopher Johnson, Presiding Officer, Task Force on the Prevention of Sexual Abuse of Children, of a report of the task force

CIVIL COMMITMENT STUDY

- 3:20 p.m. Committee work
 - Presentation by Chairman Klemin of a bill draft [21.0107.03000] relating to the voluntary surrender of a firearm by a family or household member, and a firearm and suicide prevention video
 - Example of a firearm and suicide prevention video from Utah Department of Public Safety
- 4:05 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Lawrence R. Klemin (Chairman), Ruth Buffalo, Karla Rose Hanson, Pat D. Heinert, Mary Johnson, Daniel Johnston, Terry B. Jones, Karen Karls, Jim Kasper, Kim Koppelman, Aaron McWilliams, Bob Paulson, Shannon Roers Jones, Steve Vetter

Senators: JoNell A. Bakke, Michael Dwyer, John Grabinger, Diane Larson, Larry Luick, Janne Myrdal

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel