

# **Tentative Agenda**

21.5134.02000

Revised 7/1/2020

# **EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE**

Thursday, July 2, 2020

Due to public health considerations and in accordance with Executive Order 2020-16, a meeting room will not be available to the public for this meeting. A live stream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="http://video.legis.nd.gov">http://video.legis.nd.gov</a>. Written comments regarding the committee's agenda topics may be submitted in advance of the meeting to <a href="mailto:dassel@nd.gov">dassel@nd.gov</a>.

Committee members have the option of attending the meeting remotely or in person. Each committee member is asked to notify legislative council staff at <a href="mailto:dassel@nd.gov">dassel@nd.gov</a> at least 1 week before the meeting date to indicate whether the member plans to attend the meeting remotely or in person. Staff will provide committee members with call-in or meeting room information before the meeting.

10:00	a.m.	Call to order	ſ

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the January 7, 2020, meeting

10:05 a.m. Comments by the Chairman

#### TEACHER INCENTIVE FOR LEADERSHIP PROGRAM STUDY

10:10 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Erin Jacobson, Coordinator, North Dakota Teacher Support

System, Education Standards and Practices Board, regarding the teacher support

system mentoring program and funding

10:40 a.m. Committee discussion of requested information distributed by the Legislative Council

staff via email regarding data and comparisons of teacher leadership programs from

other states provided by the Education Commission of the States

10:50 a.m. Committee discussion and directives

### DUAL-CREDIT, ADVANCED PLACEMENT, AND DISTANCE EDUCATION COURSES STUDY

11:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Lisa Johnson, Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student

Affairs/Director of Academic Affairs, North Dakota University System, regarding the cost to provide dual-credit and career and technical education courses to all students in the

state, how enrollments are determined, and eligibility

11:30 a.m. Committee discussion and directives

11:45 a.m. Recess

#### REPORTS

1:00 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction of a report on

updates and the collaborative report on the statewide prekindergarten through grade

twelve education strategic vision

1:15 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction of a report

regarding proposed changes to the state accountability plan

1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Luke Schaefer, Chairman, Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve

Education Coordination Council, of a report on the activities of the council

## STUDENT BEHAVIORAL HEALTH ISSUES STUDY

1:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Dan Stewart, Legal Director, Minnesota Disability Law Center; and Ms. Julie Horntvedt, Chairperson, North Dakota Disabilities Advocacy Consortium, regarding policies and practices related to students with disabilities who experience behavioral health crisis or who engage in intense and aggressive behavior for communication purposes

2:15 p.m. Comments submitted by interested persons regarding the student behavioral health issues study:

- · Renae Johnson, Parent
- · Molly Backhaus, Parent
- · Melanie and Mike Suda, Parents
- Suzanne Kilichowski, Parent
- · Laurie Thielman, Parent
- · Mason Thielman, Student
- · Jeanine Schmidt, Parent
- · Kevin and Angela Tabor, Parents
- · Mary Cummins, Grandparent
- · Teresa M. Olafson
- 2:20 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

# NORTH DAKOTA CENTURY CODE PROVISIONS THAT RELATE TO ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION STUDY

2:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft [21.0064.01000] relating to the repeal or amendment of obsolete or redundant provisions in North Dakota Century Code Title 15.1

2:40 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

2:50 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Representatives: David Monson (Chairman), Ron Guggisberg, Pat D. Heinert, Daniel Johnston, Donald W. Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, Mitch Ostlie, Mark S. Owens, Brandy Pyle,

David Richter, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Michelle Strinden

Senators: Kyle Davison, Robert O. Fors, Richard Marcellais, Erin Oban, David S. Rust, Donald Schaible

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel