

8:30 a m

Call to order

Tentative Agenda

21.5181.02000

Revised 9/28/2020

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Due to public health considerations and in accordance with Executive Order 2020-16, a meeting room will not be available to the public for this meeting. A live stream of the meeting will be available to the public at: http://video.legis.nd.gov. Written comments regarding the committee's agenda topics may be submitted in advance of the meeting to cjoseph@nd.gov.

Committee members have the option of attending the meeting remotely or in person. Each committee member is asked to notify the Legislative Council at cjoseph@nd.gov at least 1 week before the meeting date to indicate whether the member plans to attend the meeting remotely or in person. Staff will provide committee members with call-in or meeting room information before the meeting.

6.30 a.m.	Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the September 16, 2020, meeting
8:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Ed Woods, Vice President, Business Development, Alkane Midstream LLC., regarding flared gas management and methane distribution
9:00 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Representative Brandenburg, regarding the conversion of natural gas to megawatts
9:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Michael Nasi, Senior Advisor, Life:Powered, and Partner, Jackson Walker LLP, regarding a regulatory and market update on electric power
10:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Ladd Erickson, McLean County State's Attorney, regarding energy policy issues from the county perspective
11:00 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. John Weeda, Director, North Dakota Transmission Authority, regarding transmission limitations and options to overcome the limitations
11:40 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, Industrial Commission, regarding the abandoned oil and gas well plugging and site reclamation fund and a brine pond remediation study update
12:00 noon	Recess
1:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. James Leiman, Director of Economic Development and Finance, Department of Commerce, regarding the EmPower ND Commission's energy policy recommendations
2:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Charles Gorecki, Chief Executive Officer, Energy and Environmental Research Center, regarding headwinds in the fossil fuel industry
2:20 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
2:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Rich Wardner (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Kathy Hogan, Ray Holmberg, Merrill Piepkorn, David S. Rust

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Mike Brandenburg, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel