



Adjourn

3:15 p.m.

## **Tentative Agenda**

23.5025.02000

Revised 7/19/2021

## WATER DRAINAGE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 21, 2021 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Chairman's comments
9:05 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study for the 2021-22 interim
9:20 a.m.	Committee discussion regarding goals for the interim
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jayme Tenneson, State's Attorney, Griggs County, regarding counties' oversight of water resource boards
10:00 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Aaron Carranza, Regulatory Division Director, State Water Commission, regarding the structure and functions of the State Engineer's office and the relationship between the State Engineer's office and water resource boards
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Michael Anderson, Hillsboro, regarding State Water Commission research on multiple drainage and water resource board topics
11:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Sean M. Fredricks, Ohnstad Twichell, regarding project timelines and appeals from water resource board decisions
12:00 noon	Recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Doug Goehring, Agriculture Commissioner, regarding the Department of Agriculture's Mediation Service for landowners in disputes with federal and state agencies
1:20 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Timothy J. Dawson, Director, Office of Administrative Hearings, regarding the administrative appeals process
1:40 p.m.	Break
1:50 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Duane Pool, Natural Resource Economist, State Water Commission, regarding methods available to assess costs in relation to benefits of water projects
2:20 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Clif Issendorf, Member, Bottineau County Water Resource Board, regarding assessment of costs for water projects
2:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by the Legislative Council staff regarding conflicts and redundancy in North Dakota Century Code Chapters 61-16.1, 61-21, and 61-32, and relevant 2021 legislation
3:00 p.m.	Committee discussion

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.legis.nd.gov">https://video.legis.nd.gov</a>.

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Larry Luick (Chairman), Kathy Hogan, Ronald Sorvaag Representatives: Dennis Johnson, David Monson, Marvin E. Nelson

Citizen Members: Jeff Frith, Clif Issendorf, Richard Johnson, Sharon Lipsh, Randy Melvin

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Counsel