



1:30 p.m.

maintenance organization plans

Tentative Agenda

23.5028.02000

Revised 7/28/2021

HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 4, 2021 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Bismarck, North Dakota		
9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Comments by the Chairman Review of the <u>Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota</u> <u>Legislative Management</u>	
9:10 a.m.	PRESCRIPTION DRUG STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the prescription drug study	
9:15 a.m.	Status <u>report</u> by Mr. John Arnold, Deputy Commissioner, Insurance Department, and Mr. Mark J. Hardy, Executive Director, State Board of Pharmacy, on the implementation of House Bill No. 1032 (2021), regarding prescription drug cost transparency	
9:40 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Shabbir Safdar, Executive Director, Partnership for Safe Medicines, regarding issues related to drug importation	
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Hardy regarding an overview of the prescription drug system	
10:10 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Sharon Lamberton, PhRMA, regarding an overview of the prescription drug system and the role pharmaceutical companies play in drug pricing	
10:30 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Michelle Mack, Director of State Affairs, PCMA, and Mr. Alex Sommer, Principal Government Affairs Lobbyist, Prime Therapeutics, regarding the prescription drug system and the role pharmacy benefit managers play in drug pricing	
10:50 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Mike Schwab, Executive Vice President, North Dakota Pharmacists Association, regarding the prescription drug system and the role pharmacists play in drug pricing	
11:10 a.m.	Comments by interested persons	
	Committee discussion and directives	
11:20 a.m.	HEALTH INSURANCE NETWORK STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the health insurance network study	
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Arnold regarding an overview of the types of health insurance options available in the state	
12:00 noon	Recess	
1:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Al Berg, North Risk Partners, regarding health insurance sales and marketing as they relate to narrow network plans	
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. Duncan Ackerman regarding the health insurance network study	

Presentation by Mr. Dylan Wheeler, Senior Legislative Affairs Specialist, Sanford Health

Plan, regarding Sanford Health Plan's integrated delivery model for its health

1:45 p.m.	Comments by interested persons	
	Committee discussion and directives	
1:55 p.m.	TELEHEALTH STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the telehealth study	
2:05 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Johnny Palsgraaf regarding telehealth in the state and recent telehealth legislation	
2:25 p.m.	Presentations by North Dakota health insurance carriers regarding the use of telehealth	
2:45 p.m.	Presentation by health care providers regarding the use of telehealth in the state	
3:05 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Andrew Askew, Vice President of Public Policy, Essentia Health, regarding the use of telehealth in the state	
3:15 p.m.	Comments by interested persons	
	Committee discussion and directives	
COMMUNITY HEALTH WORKER STUDY		
3:25 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the community health worker study	
3:35 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by tribal representatives on the role of community health representatives in tribal communities	
4:05 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Wendy Schmidt, Learning and Development Senior Specialist, and Mr. Richard Preussler, Patient and Community Education Director of Learning and Development, Sanford Health, regarding the use of community health workers	
4:25 p.m.	Comments by interested persons	
	Committee discussion and directives	
4:35 p.m.	Adjourn	

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Robin Weisz (Chairman), Pamela Anderson, Mike Beltz, Ruth Buffalo, Gretchen Dobervich, Clayton Fegley, Zachary Ista, George Keiser, Lisa Meier, Marvin E. Nelson,

Bob Paulson, Karen M. Rohr, Greg Westlind

Senators: Howard C. Anderson, Jr., Tim Mathern, Dave Oehlke, Kristin Roers

Staff Contacts: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Senior Counsel, Samantha E. Kramer, Senior Counsel