23.5036.02000



HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, August 9-10, 2021 Skoal Room, Memorial Student Center, Valley City State University Valley City, North Dakota

Monday, August 9, 2021

- 1:00 p.m. Call to order Roll call Review of the <u>Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the Legislative</u> <u>Management</u> Comments by the Chairman
 1:05 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of background memorandums regarding
- the committee's <u>duties</u> and <u>responsibilities</u>
 1:10 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of Valley City State University of an overview of the institution
- 2:25 p.m. Tour of Valley City State University
- 3:30 p.m. Break
- 3:45 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact regarding higher education trends and the future of higher education
- 4:30 p.m. Recess

Tuesday, August 10, 2021

- 8:00 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding teacher education needs
- 8:35 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of Mayville State University of an overview of the institution, including facility needs
- 10:00 a.m. Break
- 10:15 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding the current state of the University System
- 11:00 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the University System regarding the higher education funding formula, including recent changes to the formula
- 11:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:50 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 12:00 noon Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Larry Bellew, Jay Fisher, LaurieBeth Hager, Karla Rose Hanson, Zachary Ista, Dennis Johnson, Bob Martinson, Gary Paur, Brandy Pyle, David Richter, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Senators: JoNell A. Bakke, Robert Erbele, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Oehlke, Jim P. Roers

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Senior Fiscal Analyst