

## HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, August 9-10, 2021 Skoal Room, Memorial Student Center, Valley City State University Valley City, North Dakota

Representative Mark Sanford, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. on Monday, August 9, 2021.

**Members present:** Representatives Mark Sanford, Larry Bellew, Jay Fisher, LaurieBeth Hager, Karla Rose Hanson, Zachary Ista, Dennis Johnson, Bob Martinson, Gary Paur, Brandy Pyle\*\*, David Richter, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck; Senators JoNell A. Bakke, Robert Erbele, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Oehlke\*

Member absent: Senator Jim P. Roers

**Others present:** Senators Ray Holmberg, Grand Forks, and Joan Heckaman, New Rockford, members of the Legislative Management

Representative Dwight Kiefert and Senator Michael A. Wobbema, Valley City See <u>Appendix A</u> for additional persons present. \*Attended remotely \*\*Attended in-person on Day 1, and participated remotely on Day 2

Mr. Alex J. Cronquist, Senior Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Council, reviewed the <u>Supplementary Rules of</u> <u>Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management</u>.

Chairman Sanford welcomed the committee members to Valley City State University (VCSU). He said the committee will meet primarily on North Dakota University System institution campuses.

Mr. Cronquist presented memorandums entitled <u>Other Duties of the Higher Education Committee - Background</u> <u>Memorandum</u> and <u>Higher Education Study - Background Memorandum</u>.

Dr. Alan LaFave, President, Valley City State University, presented an overview (Appendix B) of the institution.

Dr. Allen Burgad, Dean for School of Education, Valley City State University, presented information (<u>Appendix C</u>) regarding teacher education at VCSU.

Mr. Cory Anderson, Executive Director for University Advancement, Valley City State University, presented information (<u>Appendix D</u>) regarding the VCSU Foundation.

Mr. Wesley Wintch, Vice President for Business Affairs, Valley City State University, presented information (<u>Appendix E</u>) regarding the VCSU budget.

The committee toured VCSU, including the Gaukler Wellness Center, the Center for the Arts, and the heat plant.

Mr. Rob Trembath, Chief Operating Officer and General Counsel, Midwestern Higher Education Compact, presented information (<u>Appendix F</u>) regarding higher education trends and the future of higher education.

The committee recessed at 4:40 p.m. on Monday, August 9, 2021, and reconvened at 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday, August 10, 2021.

Mr. Joe Kolosky, Director of the Office of School Approval and Opportunity, Department of Public Instruction, presented information (<u>Appendix G</u>) regarding teacher education needs.

## 23.5036.03000

Ms. Lisa Johnson, Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs, North Dakota University System, presented information (<u>Appendix H</u>) regarding enrollment in teacher education programs at University System institutions.

Dr. Brian Van Horn, President, Mayville State University, presented an overview (<u>Appendix I</u>) of the institution, including facility needs.

Mr. Steven Bensen, Interim Vice President for Business Affairs, Mayville State University, presented information (<u>Appendix J</u>) regarding the Mayville State University budget, including federal COVID-19-related funding.

Mr. Theodore Stoa, Assistant Professor of Business, Mayville State University, presented information (<u>Appendix K</u>) regarding the establishment of a new baccalaureate degree program in agribusiness at Mayville State University.

Dr. Mark R. Hagerott, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, presented information (<u>Appendix L</u>) regarding the state of the University System.

Ms. Tammy Dolan, Vice Chancellor for Administrative Affairs and Chief Financial Officer, North Dakota University System, presented information (<u>Appendix M</u>), regarding the higher education funding formula, including recent changes to the formula.

No further business appearing, Chairman Sanford adjourned the meeting at 11:30 a.m.

Alex J. Cronquist Senior Fiscal Analyst

ATTACH:13