



Tentative Agenda

23.5045.02000

Revised 10/20/2021

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Wednesday, October 27, 2021 Room 327B, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the March 23, 2021, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

Review of the <u>Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota</u>

Legislative Management

9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum entitled *Employee*

Benefits Programs Committee - Statutory Responsibilities and Assigned Statutory

Responsibilities - Background Memorandum

Committee discussion and directives concerning general requirements for submission and review of legislative retirement, insurance, and retiree health insurance proposals

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT SERVICES - REPORTS

9:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Lynn Hart, Classification and Compensation Manager, Human Resource Management Services Division, Office of Management and Budget, of:

- A report, as required under North Dakota Century Code Section 54-06-31, on the implementation, progress, and bonuses provided by state agency programs to provide bonuses to recruit or retain employees in hard-to-fill positions; and
- Biennial reports, as required under Sections 54-06-32, 54-06-33, and 54-06-34, summarizing reports of state agencies providing service awards to employees in classified service, providing employer-paid costs of training or educational courses to employees in classified service, and paying employee membership dues for professional organizations and membership dues for service clubs when required to do business or if the membership is primarily for the benefit of the state

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

OVERVIEW OF THE PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM

9:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Scott Miller, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement

System, of an overview of the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS)

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

10:35 a.m. Break

ACTUARIAL VALUATION OF THE PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM FUNDS

10:45 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Bonnie Wurst, Senior Consultant, Gabriel, Roeder, Smith &

Company Holdings, Inc., of:

- An overview of the PERS valuation process
- The July 1, 2021, actuarial valuations of the PERS fund, the Highway Patrolmen's retirement system fund, public safety funds, Job Service North Dakota retirement system fund, and Retiree Health Insurance Credit Program fund

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

12:00 noon Recess

OVERVIEW OF THE RETIREMENT AND INVESTMENT OFFICE

1:00 p.m.

<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Janilyn Murtha, Interim Executive Director, and Mr. Eric Chin, Interim Chief Investment Officer, Retirement and Investment Office, of an overview of the Retirement and Investment Office and Teachers' Fund for Retirement (TFFR), including State Investment Board investments for TFFR and PERS

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

ACTUARIAL VALUATIONS OF THE TEACHERS' FUND FOR RETIREMENT

1:30 p.m. Presentations by Mr. Matthew A. Strom, Senior Vice President and consulting actuary, and Mr. Brad Ramirez, Vice President and consulting actuary, The Segal Group, Inc., of:

- · An overview of the TFFR valuation process
- The July 1, 2021, actuarial valuation of TFFR

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

HEALTH INSURANCE MANDATES

2:30 p.m.

Committee review of Section 54-03-28 regarding measures and proposed measures providing for health insurance mandated coverage of services

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives regarding adoption of a procedure for identifying measures and proposed measures mandating health insurance coverage of services or payment for specified providers of services

3:00 p.m. Committee work

3:15 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Joshua A. Boschee (Chairman), Bert Anderson, Claire Cory, Ron Guggisberg, George

Keiser, Mitch Ostlie, Matthew Ruby

Senators: Brad Bekkedahl, Randy A. Burckhard, Dick Dever, Tim Mathern, Kristin Roers, Shawn Vedaa

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Senior Counsel