



## **Tentative Agenda**

23.5051.02000

Revised 10/27/2021

## RETIREMENT COMMITTEE

Thursday, October 28, 2021 Room 327B, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the October 4, 2021, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

9:10 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Bonnie Wurst, Senior Consultant, Gabriel, Roeder, Smith &

Company Holdings, Inc., of:

• An overview of the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS) valuation process

 The July 1, 2021, actuarial valuations of the PERS fund, the Highway Patrolmen's retirement system fund, public safety funds, Job Service North Dakota retirement

system fund, and Retiree Health Insurance Credit Program fund

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

10:25 a.m. Break

10:40 a.m. Comments by Representative Steven Johnson, Kansas, regarding the Kansas

experience in transitioning from a defined benefit to a cash balance retirement plan

Committee discussion and directives

11:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Eric Chin, Interim Chief Investment Officer, Retirement and

Investment Office, regarding the status of investments for the PERS and legacy funds

Committee discussion and directives

11:45 a.m. Recess

1:00 p.m. <u>Comments</u> by Mr. Joe Fox, Executive Director, Oklahoma Public Employees

Retirement System, regarding the Oklahoma experience in transitioning from a defined

benefit to a defined contribution retirement plan

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

1:45 p.m. Break

1:55 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Ryan Frost, Policy Analyst, Reason Foundation, regarding

retirement plan options

Comments by interested persons

2:40 p.m. <u>Committee discussion and directives</u>

2:50 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Mike Lefor (Chairman), Rick Becker, Joshua A. Boschee, Jason Dockter, Scott Louser, Austen Schauer, Vicky Steiner, Greg Stemen

Senators: Howard C. Anderson Jr., Karen K. Krebsbach, Doug Larsen, Tim Mathern, Kristin Roers, Shawn Vedaa

Staff Contacts: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Senior Counsel Chris J. Kadrmas, Senior Fiscal Analyst