23.5055.02000



Monday, October 25, 2021 Room 322 Learning Resource Center Building North Dakota State Hospital Jamestown, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the <u>minutes of the September 28, 2021, meeting</u>

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH NEEDS OF INCARCERATED ADULTS

- 9:05 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding behavioral health services available at the James River Correctional Center
- 9:15 a.m. Tour of the James River Correctional Center grounds and facilities

ACUTE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITALIZATION AND RESIDENTIAL CARE

- 10:45 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of the Southeast Judicial District regarding incarceration rates and sentencing statistics of individuals with mental illness in the district
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Paul C. Murphy, Murphy Law Office, regarding mental and behavioral health trends and needs in the state, including incarceration rates and sentencing statistics of individuals with mental illness
- 11:15 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Nicole Franklin, Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Mosaic Wellness Center, regarding behavioral health services available in rural communities and any recommendations of additional services and needs in the state
- 11:30 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Tim Blasl, President, North Dakota Hospital Association, regarding acute psychiatric hospitalization, residential care, and behavioral health services and programs available and any recommendations of additional services and needs in the state
- 11:45 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of the Department of Human Services regarding bed capacity and utilization of the State Hospital, including buildings currently occupied, buildings no longer in service, behavioral health services provided, and future bed capacity and utilization needs of the State Hospital and patients
- 12:15 p.m. Recess
- 1:00 p.m. Tour of the State Hospital grounds and facilities
- 3:30 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.legis.nd.gov</u>.

Committee Members

Representatives: Jon O. Nelson (Chairman), Emily O'Brien, Randy A. Schobinger, Michelle Strinden Senators: Kyle Davison, Dick Dever, Kathy Hogan, Tim Mathern

Staff Contact: Levi Kinnischtzke, Senior Fiscal Analyst