North Dakota Legislative Management

Tentative Agenda

23.5089.02000



Revised 12/14/2021

BUDGET SECTION

Wednesday, December 15, 2021 Senate Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the September 30, 2021, meeting
- 10:05 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget regarding:
 - · Status of the general fund
 - Reports from state agencies applying for federal grants estimated to be \$25,000 or more pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 54-27-27
 - Irregularities in the fiscal practices of the state pursuant to Section 54-14-03.1
 - The status of the state's plan to use federal coronavirus capital projects funds
- *10:20 a.m. Budget Section consideration of the following state agency requests pursuant to Chapter 54-16 authorized by the Emergency Commission, which require consideration by the Budget Section:
 - **Highway Patrol (Request #2049)** The request is to increase spending authority from the motor carrier electronic permit transaction fund by \$66,431 for costs to construct an addition to the agency's shooting range that were incurred but not paid in the 2019-21 biennium
 - State Historical Society (Request #2050) The request is to increase federal funds spending authority by \$75,000 to accept and expend federal American Rescue Plan Act grant funds received through Humanities North Dakota to support general operating costs at historic sites, which includes the cost to fabricate and install interpretive signs at multiple historic sites
 - Office of Management and Budget (Request #2051) The request is to reauthorize federal funds spending authority for \$1,167,468 of federal governor's emergency education relief funds, for which spending authority expired on June 30, 2021
 - Department of Environmental Quality (Request #2052) The request is to increase federal funds spending authority by \$1.2 million in the operating expenses line item to accept and expend passthrough grant funds from the State Department of Health for wastewater testing
 - Department of Environmental Quality (Request #2053) The request is to increase special funds spending authority by \$2,056,000 from Volkswagen settlement funds in the grants line item to pay for grants awarded during the 2019-21 biennium but for which costs were not incurred until the 2021-23 biennium
 - 10:35 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the <u>67th Legislative Assembly State</u> <u>Budget Actions Supplement for the 2021-23 Biennium</u> report

- 10:40 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> of a report from the Legacy and Budget Stabilization Fund Advisory Board regarding the status of the legacy fund and budget stabilization fund pursuant to Section 21-10-11
- 10:50 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Adjutant General's office pursuant to Section 37-03-18 regarding the status of the North Dakota National Guard service member, veteran, family, and survivor support program
- 11:00 a.m. Distribution of written <u>reports</u> from the North Dakota University System regarding an annual report on full-time equivalent position adjustments made for the North Dakota State University (NDSU) Extension Service, Northern Crops Institute, Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute, NDSU Main Research Center, branch research centers, and Agronomy Seed Farm pursuant to Sections 11-38-12 and 15-12.1-05 and Section 8 of Senate Bill No. 2020 (2021)
- 11:05 a.m. Distribution of a <u>letter</u> from the Theodore Roosevelt Library Foundation regarding donations for the library project and the allocation of funds to certain entities
- 11:10 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 11:30 a.m. Adjourn

*This item includes a request for Budget Section action.

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

- Representatives: Don Vigesaa (Chairman), Bert Anderson, Larry Bellew, Tracy Boe, Joshua A. Boschee, Mike Brandenburg, Jeff Delzer, Michael Howe, Keith Kempenich, Kim Koppelman, Gary Kreidt, Scott Louser, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, Alisa Mitskog, Corey Mock, David Monson, Mike Nathe, Jon O. Nelson, Chet Pollert, Mark Sanford, Mike Schatz, Jim Schmidt, Randy A. Schobinger, Michelle Strinden
- Senators: Brad Bekkedahl, Kyle Davison, Dick Dever, Robert Erbele, Joan Heckaman, David Hogue, Ray Holmberg, Jerry Klein, Karen K. Krebsbach, Tim Mathern, Erin Oban, Dave Oehlke, Nicole Poolman, David S. Rust, Ronald Sorvaag, Terry M. Wanzek, Rich Wardner

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor