23.5092.02000



EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE

Monday, December 13, 2021 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the July 20, 2021, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Comments by the Chairman
- 9:10 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Ann Ellefson, Director, Office of Academic Support, Department of Public Instruction, regarding a review of waiver applications under North Dakota Century Code Section 15.1-06-08.1 and schools participating in innovative education programs under Section 15.1-06-08.2
- 9:20 a.m. Video recorded playback of a <u>presentation</u> given by Mr. Ron Berger at the Governor's Summit on Innovative Education in Bismarck on June 7, 2021, regarding innovative education
- 9:55 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Aimee Copas, Executive Director, North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders, regarding the North Dakota Innovation Academy
- 10:10 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Cory Steiner, Superintendent, Northern Cass School District, of information and data on the competency-based learning and innovative education program being implemented in the school district
- 10:55 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Dale Hoerauf, Director, Bismarck Public Schools Career Academy, and Mr. Pat Phillips, System Innovator, Bismarck Public Schools Career Academy, of information and data on the competency-based learning and innovative education program being implemented in the school district
- 11:25 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Nick Klemisch, Superintendent, Garrison Public Schools, of information and data on the competency-based learning and innovative education program being implemented in the school district through the Innovation Academy
- 11:55 a.m. Recess
- 1:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Andrew Jordan, Superintendent, Wilton Public Schools, of information and data on the competency-based learning and innovative education program being implemented in the school district through the Innovation Academy
- 1:30 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Jim Upgren, Assistant Director, Office of School Approval and Opportunity, Department of Public Instruction, of information and an update on the learn everywhere program enacted by House Bill No. 1478 (2021), including the differences and similarities between learn everywhere and innovative education programs under Section 15.1-06-08.2
- 2:00 p.m. Break
- 2:15 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Ellefson of information and data on the North Dakota Learning Continuum

- 3:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's study of innovative education and competency-based learning
- 3:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 3:50 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.legis.nd.gov</u>.

Committee Members

- Senators: Erin Oban (Chairman), David A. Clemens, Cole Conley, Jay R. Elkin, Doug Larsen, Diane Larson, Richard Marcellais, Michael A. Wobbema
- Representatives: LaurieBeth Hager, Patrick Hatlestad, Pat D. Heinert, Jeff A. Hoverson, Donald Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, David Monson, David Richter, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel