

# **Tentative Agenda**

25.5052.02000

Revised 10/5/23

## HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday and Wednesday, October 10-11, 2023
Performance Hall, Center for the Arts, Valley City State University, Valley City, North Dakota

### Tuesday, October 10, 2023

4:00 p.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the August 2-3, 2023, meeting

4:05 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding state

financial aid programs, including potential adjustments and enhancements to improve

efficiency and effectiveness of the programs

5:00 p.m. Tour of Valley City State University

6:00 p.m. Recess

#### Wednesday, October 11, 2023

8:30 a.m. Presentation by a representative of Valley City State University of an overview of the

institution

9:30 a.m. Presentation by a representative of Mayville State University of an overview of the

institution

10:30 a.m. Break

10:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the University System regarding the higher

education funding formula

10:55 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the University System regarding the University

System capital building fund program

11:10 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding

teacher shortages

11:30 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the University System regarding enrollment and

graduation trends in teacher education programs

11:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's assigned studies and

duties

11:50 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

12:00 noon Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.ndlegis.gov">https://video.ndlegis.gov</a>.

#### **Committee Members**

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Landon Bahl, Larry Bellew, Claire Cory, Jay Fisher, Karla

Rose Hanson, Matt Heilman, Dennis Johnson, Bob Martinson, Mike Nathe, David

Richter, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Steve Swiontek

Senators: Sean Cleary, Robert Erbele, Karen K. Krebsbach, Curt Kreun, Jonathan Sickler, Ronald

Sorvaag

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Senior Fiscal Analyst