September 14, 1998

## **MEETING NOTICE**

Representative Jack Dalrymple, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **BUDGET SECTION**.

- Date: Wednesday, October 7, 1998
- Time: 9:00 a.m.
- Place: Senate Chamber, State Capitol, Bismarck
- **Agenda:** Presentation by the Office of Management and Budget on the status of the state general fund; by the Department of Human Services on the RESPOND computer system; by the Veterans Home on the agency's management, budgeting, and accounting practices; by the Workers Compensation Bureau on critical salary adjustments; by the Children's Services Coordinating Committee on administrative costs of regional and tribal children's services coordinating committees; by the Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations on planning grants; by the North Dakota University System on proposed capital construction projects at the University of North Dakota and Dickinson State University; and by the Legislative Council staff on federal funds to be received by state agencies during the 1997-99 and 1999-2001 bienniums, of a memorandum on block grant hearings required during the 1999 legislative session, of a resolution draft authorizing the Budget Section to hold any block grant hearings required during the 1999-2000 interim, of a memorandum on capital projects with a required local match, of a memorandum on the authority of the State Historical Society to prohibit the demolition of a state-owned building, and of a memorandum on the authority of the Budget Section to expand a capital project or authorize a new capital project. Time has been included on the agenda for consideration of state agency requests that have been authorized by the Emergency Commission and require consideration by the Budget Section.
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- Committee Members: Representatives Jack Dalrymple, Ole Aarsvold, LeRoy G. Bernstein, James Boehm, Merle Boucher, Rex R. Byerly, Ron Carlisle, Jeff W. Delzer, John Dorso, Gereld F. Gerntholz, Pam Gulleson, Roy Hausauer, Robert Huether, Richard Kunkel, Edward H. Lloyd, Ronald Nichols, Al Soukup, Ken Svedjan, Mike Timm, Ben Tollefson, Francis J. Wald, Janet Wentz, Gerry Wilkie; Senators Bill L. Bowman, Ray Holmberg, Aaron Krauter, Evan E. Lips, Tim Mathern, Pete Naaden, Donna L. Nalewaja, Gary J. Nelson, David E. Nething, Rolland W. Redlin, Larry J. Robinson, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn, Harvey D. Tallackson
- Staff Contacts: Chester E. Nelson, Jr., Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Joe R. Morrissette, Senior Fiscal Analyst

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/LMM