NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION SERVICES COMMITTEE

Thursday and Friday, September 17-18, 1998 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Thursday, September 17, 1998

| 9:00 a.m. | Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes from previous meeting |
|----------------------------|---|
| 9:05 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Dennis Steele, State Board for Vocational and Technical Education, regarding the coordination of statewide access to work force training programs |
| 9:25 a.m. | Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to those provisions of North Dakota Century Code Title 15 which govern elementary and secondary education |
| 9:30 a.m. | Comments by interested persons |
| 10:15 a.m. | Coffee break |
| 10:30 a.m. | Comments by interested persons continued |
| 12:00 noon | Luncheon recess |
| 1:00 p.m. | Presentation by Mr. Larry Klundt, Leadership in Education Administration Consortium, regarding training programs for teachers and administrators developed in cooperation with the teacher learning centers |
| 1:30 p.m. | Consideration of the bill draft relating to those provisions of North Dakota Century Code Title 15 which govern elementary and secondary education |
| 4:00 p.m. | Recess |
| Friday, September 18, 1998 | |
| 9:00 a.m. | Presentation by Ms. Brenda Oas, Department of Public Instruction, regarding home schooling of children with autism |
| 9:15 a.m. | Presentation by Ms. Pat Laubach, Department of Public Instruction, regarding plans assigning the duties of county superintendents |
| 9:30 a.m. | Continued committee consideration of the bill draft relating to those provisions of North Dakota Century Code Title 15 which govern elementary and secondary education |
| 10:30 a.m. | Coffee break |
| 11:00 a.m. | Comments by other interested persons Committee discussion and staff directives |
| 12:00 noon | Adjourn |

Committee Members

- Senators Ray Holmberg (Chairman), Pete Naaden, David O'Connell, Randy A. Schobinger, Vern Thompson, Terry M. Wanzek, Dan Wogsland
- Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Linda Christenson, David Drovdal, Howard Grumbo, Lyle L. Hanson, RaeAnn Kelsch, John Mahoney, David Monson, Dennis J. Renner, Laurel Thoreson