NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION SERVICES COMMITTEE

Thursday and Friday, September 25-26, 1997 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Thursday, September 25, 1997

Thursday, September 23, 1337	
9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Minutes of June 30, 1997, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Joe Linnertz, Department of Public Instruction, and Mr. Dan Pullen, Center for Innovation in Instruction, regarding computers and related technology
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Joe Westby, North Dakota Education Association, regarding teachers and technology
10:15 a.m.	Coffee break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Mike Hillman, North Dakota University System, regarding high school prerequisites for university courses and remedial or compensatory classes
11:15 a.m.	Committee discussion
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. Ann Clapper, Department of Public Instruction, regarding curriculum frameworks
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by Representative Linda Christenson regarding the adoption of content standards by the Grand Forks Public School District
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Karen Nelson, Yellowstone Trail Consortium, regarding the adoption of content standards
3:00 p.m.	Coffee break
3:30 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons
4:00 p.m.	Recess
Friday, September 26, 1997	
9:00 a m	Summary by the Legislative Council staff of North Dakota Century Code

9:00 a.m.	Summary by the Legislative Council staff of North Dakota Century Code Chapters 15-21 through 15-27.6
10:00 a.m.	Committee discussion of North Dakota Century Code Chapters 15-21 through 15-27.6
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	Committee discussion of North Dakota Century Code Chapters 15-21 through 15-27.6

11:30 a.m. Comments by other interested persons Committee discussion and staff directives

12:00 noon Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Ray Holmberg (Chairman), Pete Naaden, David O'Connell, Randy A. Schobinger, Vern Thompson, Terry M. Wanzek, Dan Wogsland

Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Linda Christenson, David Drovdal, Howard Grumbo, Lyle L. Hanson, RaeAnn Kelsch, John Mahoney, David Monson, Dennis J. Renner, Laurel Thoreson